We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take care of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Guest Resort Langata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jupiter Guest Resort Langata
Save
You added Jupiter Guest Resort Langata to your Saves list
Jonathan Ngeno Rd | Langata., Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They take care of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in a nice hotel near the Kenyatta Airport for 2 days, but Jupiter Guest Resort set a higher standard for just 500 KS more (5000 KS for 2 of us a night). It has big rooms, a 2’ x 4’ table to work on with my laptop, two mirrors and decent storage. The security is good! The bed and pillow are real good and the bug net excellent. They clean and change sheets and towels, etc. daily. The bathroom plumbing works well (I am comparing it to Uganda where we are staying for six months) (need to BARELY put on shower water to get it hot-if you turn it more, cold water is added.) The shower drains well and they have towel mats on the floor to help. They have thought of everything! We stayed 11 days. The included breakfast buffet is fast and especially good on Sundays. The location is a block off Longata Rd and very near the Carnavore Restaurant (Very expensive) Wilson Airport (busy with small planes that mostly take people on Safarri), Kibera slum (can see from hotel but NEVER go without local help as it is VERY dangerous), a big supermarket, and 30 minutes from town in non-rush hour traffic. There is a good pizza restaurant and a good chicken restaurant nearby on Longata Rd. The Matatu's (16 pax van taxi’s if you are a bit adventurous – when the guy taps you on the shoulder or looks at you, it is time to pay) are cheap (about $.50 US to downtown) and stop on Longata, you will need to ask someone where. Beware that different routes go different places so ask the staff before you go on a Matatu. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food good (but takes a very long time, i.e 30 to 75 minutes). The Food Court at Galleria (about 3 miles farther away from downtown is excellent and service takes less than 15 minutes for all kinds of good food and ice cream). It only costs $.35 to get up to Galleria by Matatu (they call it gaLARia). I would definitely seek out this hotel if I come to Nairobi again. TIP: Always carry a little flashlight in case you get back in the dark. We walked between the hotel and Langata several times with no trouble but without light it is difficult. We were to leave on Aug 7 but due to the big fire at the airport stayed another day and took a bus back to Kampala. Gertrude the manager was EXREMELY helpful in setting up good seats for the bus!

Room Tip: Probably the side of the building away from Downtown Nairobi would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter00, Manager at Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Prado1122

We take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of Jupiter Guest Resort for your Uncomfortable stay with us.

We sincerely apologize for the state of the room as posted.

Due to the complaint of cockroaches in the room we have resorted to fumigate the premises on a weekly basis instead of doing it on a fortnight basis.

Jupiter Resort has never had such an incidence as we pride ourselves in the high standard of cleanliness in the premises.

We have resolved to ensure that the correct size of bedsheets are spread on the correct bed.
Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. However the bed comforters do not cover the entire mattress.

We are optimistic that such an incidence will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Within walking distance to Carnivore restaurant - but don't walk when it's dark, might be too dangerous. Staff, especially reception and their manager, were very helpful. Restaurant breakfast was good - but dinners took almost two hours to be served, and they were out of the Western based dishes - their African dishes were slightly faster. Good value for money, if you want something affordable - wifi access was great one the first visit but patchy on the second.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the car yard - they start banging from early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The first time I was there good experience, excellent wi-fi. Very pleasant staff all over. Good food all over also breakfast was good. Second time was there it took 2 hours to get a meal in the restaurant. The dinner never came so we left the Jupiter. Was stopped at gate by security for unpaid bill at restaurant. After a lot of argument they finally let us out. I will not go back there ever.

Room Tip: If you go get an executive room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I personally haven't spent the night there but I paid for my clients & even helped them check-in. From the day I paid for the room I appreciated the good quality customer service & as I checked them in I think they have a great customer relations manager. They're great for those on budget travel. They also have a great restaurant & pub.

Room Tip: Its important to see how each room looks like before paying for it so that you're not disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff especially the guards.
Safe considering forgot my cologne in the room and called later, and was told to pass by and collect it.
Very rare happening in most hotels.
Shower was broken but was fixed in. A few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying in JGR whenever I'm in Nairobi. I find it safe, clean, and located in a very convenient area (a 2 minute walk to catch a matatu, Uchumi is a 3 minute walk, Carnivore is a 10 minute walk away, Nairobi National Park is a 10 minute matatu ride away). The kind manager has on many occasions been of significant help and it's made me feel very comfortable and safe staying there. The staff are friendly and always ready to help. As I've said, security is utmost important to me, especially in Nairobi, and this place fulfills that need!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Bar/Restaurant - food availability is limited. Ordered 3 items non was available and ended up eating pizza which had too much cheese. I did not try the free bfast. The bar is well stocked with good service.
Reception
Manned 24 hours with friendly and helpful staff.
Location
Area surrounding hotel is not eye catching but close to great bars/clubs like pays,rafikiz, carnivore etc and uchumi hyper shopping center and t mall.
Rooms
Basic. If a couple I recommend the deluxe $50. Std room is very small. Hot water may be an issue. The first rm I had was ok but when I upgraded to delux the water was lukewarm. The hotel does not use water heaters so depending on the condition of the element on the shower head the degree of heat may vary. Room is however clean and so is the toilet shower area.
Security
Hotel is secured by a wall and electric fence. Cameras are also installed throughout the property. We walked to psys and rafikiz bars at night without a problem.
Overall its good value for money but if planning a long stay and can afford to pay more you may want to do so based solely on comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Guest Resort Langata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Guest Resort Langata

Address: Jonathan Ngeno Rd | Langata., Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a serene area. Maintains high standards of cleanliness. Near Carnivore Restaurant, Nairobi National Park, Giraffe center, David Sheldrick- Elephant Orphanage among other attractions.Have professional,warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Guest Resort Langata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.