We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Course with Juan Cambil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa

WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa
The Junction Mall | Ngong Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 704 59 58 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: TASTE PRESTIGE AWARD 2011 - BEST NEW COMER OF THE YEARA UNIQUE WINE BAR CONCEPT COMPROMISING OF A WINE SHOP, A TASTING ROOM AS WELL AS A WINE BAR AND LOUNGE OFFERING OVER 300 REFERENCES WINES FROM AROUND THE WORLD STARTING FROM JUST KSH 800 ($10), OVER 30 MALT WHISKIES AND MANY OTHER INTERNATIONAL SPIRITS.BITINGS AND DELICATESSEN TO COMPLEMENT YOUR DRINKS AND OVER 80 WINES AND CHAMPAGNES BY THE GLASS STARTING FROM JUST KSH 350 ($4). WIZARDS, THE TASTING ROOM ACCOMMODATES COMFORTABLY UP TO 16 PEOPLE FOR PRIVATE EVENTS OR CONFERENCE
Flic En Flac
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wine Course with Juan Cambil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just finished a very informative and interesting wine course with Juan Cambil. I've been a keen amateur for over 20 years, and I've taken several courses and read numerous books but this wine course re-fired my interest and deepened my knowledge.

Juan has a relaxed but well researched approach, and encourages questions and comments and is refreshingly honest about every wine we tasted. i found myself learning almost without noticing.

An added advantage is that you can buy the wines you taste - my wine rack has received some great additions from WWW - and Juan is making the WWW @ Junction the "go to" place for good but affordable wine in Nairobi.

I also attended a great wine + food pairing centred on the Pinotage grape - the food was really good, and the wines fascinating.

I will definitely be back for the next wine course in November!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine classes by Juan Cambil ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It has been 7 classes of an amazing journey into the world of wine by Sommelier Juan. I hope more Kenyans embrace wine. Thank you Juan

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good food and good selection of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A nice spot for lunch or dinner. Food was well prepared, and service attentive. The only problem was that we had trouble picking wines that were actually in stock--a number of the choices on the wine list were unavailable. Our server came up with a good solution--brought us several wines similar to our out of stock selection, and after a taste of each, we were able to settle on a good alternative.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Taking Wine appreciation in Kenya to a new level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place unwind and relax. Without doubt, this place has the largest variety of wines on offer and the staff know their products!! For those who want to discover their wine preferences, you must try the wine samplers and let the staff guide you through the tastings. I highly recommend this place!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and best wine selection in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've only ever had great meals at the wine bar, especially their steaks. The wine selection by the glass is the best in Nairobi, and it's also a great place to go buy bottles to take home. The staff is always friendly and attentive. The only down side is the location, but other than that I only have praise for this bar/restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWWShopandBar, Owner at WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear AMSR,
Nice to hear from you and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. The team at WWW Shop and Bar is delighted to hear that you enjoy our service and offering. Try also our burgers, these are really great!
See you soon at WWW
Best regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa also viewed

 

Been to WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WWW Shop and Bar Ltd - The Wine Expert in East Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.