We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Java Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Java House Downtown

Nairobi Java House Downtown
mama ngina street, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 313564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Java Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Getting sitting space is a big problem , but they have same quality of service with other Java's I avoid the place after midday to avoid the lunch hour rush . The place should also be avoided after 4pm , otherwise early morning you get a good experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardMwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
291 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Java House Downtown - nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This might be a great coffee&chat&hanging out with friends place, but my impression was that it was just too small and very crowded (we were there for a meal around 4PM on Thursday) and not really cosy place. Staff was very nice (standard for Java places), but eating there just did not feel right. Toilet is too small and flush in the ladies' room did not work. No wi fi available. Standard Java menu (very good, no complaints about food quality), I guess standard offer when it comes to coffee and pastry (we did not try this). No sitting outside, no windows, no nice view (just the main busy street). There are much better Java places in Nairobi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The place to be in downtown Nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This cafe has been going a long time and is as popular as ever with good reason. Nice ambience, excellent coffee, sinful cakes and a tempting light food menu always fresh. A very mixed crowd frequents the place. Kenyan businessmen, students , expats, the laptop crowd. Reasonably priced, consistent quality assures it will be around for a while yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

usually crowded. service is terrible. noisy. the food ok but i simply don't like the everything else about java generally.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“worst salad ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

1st time I had a bad salad n thought maybe it was a one time thing. yesterday my hubby n I bad salad, the tomatoes were rotten or something. they had black spots on them and tasted awful!!! the salad dressing OMG!!!!! pathetic. we returned the salad without a second bite. java gigiri please improve

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Java House Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Java House Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing