We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst salad ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Java House Downtown

Nairobi Java House Downtown
mama ngina street, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 313564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 327 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
nairobi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“worst salad ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

1st time I had a bad salad n thought maybe it was a one time thing. yesterday my hubby n I bad salad, the tomatoes were rotten or something. they had black spots on them and tasted awful!!! the salad dressing OMG!!!!! pathetic. we returned the salad without a second bite. java gigiri please improve

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kenya nai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

well a nice place to have coffee good coffee but there tropical mix shake beats all you should try it it's the best in the entire region though the service lacks professionalism and especially the waiters but that shouldn't discourage for the food is excellent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I do not know why this place is so popular, maybe cause in Africa there are so few coffee houses. The coffee isn't great. There is no free wireless where as you can get this in other coffee houses. Food is good and selection is great. Staff are slow and not very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NEEDS AN UPGRADE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This branch of java was a great eatery but unfortunately the standards have dropped a great deal. Waiting time to get an order taken is long, probably they are short staffed and management should do something about it. Their furniture also needs an upgrade. All in all they still have great coffee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I just came across a photo of some coffee milkshakes my husband and I had at Java House and I had to post a short review so I can share the photo!

My mouth is watering as I type this, just thinking about the delicious lattes and coffee drinks at Java House. Their food is also really good - lots of fresh veggies and I'd say a fair quality of food for a coffee shop. It's not dirt cheap, but SO good!

When we arrived in Nairobi we had our driver (http://nairobispecialists.com/ who was terrific, by the way!) take us directly to Java House. As my husband is quite familiar with Nairobi he suggested this stop, and I was very thankful he did! YUM!!

We also bought Java House coffee beans to bring back to Canada with us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Java House Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Java House Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Java House Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.