We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try ginger tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Java House Downtown

Nairobi Java House Downtown
mama ngina street, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 (20) 313564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try ginger tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Giner tea served hot, full tumbler and with honey was one experiance i will remember this cofee shop for. In process while finishing the tumbler i was all sweat bathed, but overall nothin is more tempting then taste

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“quality guaranteed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The well known menu gives you a steady quality.
The quantity is generous. the waiters are attentive.
The taste is never prnounced but right.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They Do Cool Coffee Shop Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My stars show my ratings. I love the chai teapot. My wife loves the lemonade. You have to go north to Addis to get better Ethiopian Coffee! If you are a tourist, buy a tee shirt. It is Kenya answer to Starbucks

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Just like a Starbucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just as good as a starbucks. I loved their coffees and pastries... The Sandwiches looked good as well..

The place was filled with locals and expats

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good capuccino.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I like the place because they serve good qualty coffee according to the order you put. The service is superb too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Java House Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Java House Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Java House Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.