We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hennessis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hennessis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I enjoyed two stays at the Hennessis Hotel before and after a safari in July 2014. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the rooms are of a good standard and the meals are good. The hotel is also centrally located within walking distance of the CBD and close to a local market which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hi im lucy and i went to this hotel checked in to room 318 went to have a shower and the handle came off and it all went downhill from there called the reception twice had to go down myself finally i was moved to another room "downgraded" had to complain again to be upgraded to the room i had paid for was moved downstairs to the room directly below it ,did not take long for the room to start leaking water
finally had enough asked to check out and to no surprise they have a no refund policy and i had not even been there for more than an hour.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare254, Public Relations Manager at Hennessis Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hennessis Hotel;. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. we promise to offer better service as per our mantra home away from home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel failed to reply to 2 emails from us. Don't book through Agoda as they will refuse your booking and make you pay twice (armed guard on gate is persuasive). Otherwise satisfactory though would have expected more for our money - but then hotels in Nairobi seem expensive. The lock on the bedroom door did not work, which was worrying but we were so tired after our journey and arguing about the booking that we could not complain.

Room Tip: Find one with a door that locks, and at the back of the hotel for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCare254, Public Relations Manager at Hennessis Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the review and more so your genuine concern.We wish to inform you that Hennessis Hotel LTD has no contract with AGODA,hence in the absence of such,AGODA wasnt going to accept our invoice,besides,we didnt receive any email from you since we only have two email addresses namely,sales@hotelhennessis.com or info@hotelhennessis.com.We are doing investigations to find out who purpotedly committed this fraud .We kindly request you to follow up for your refund with AGODA and its agents.
Hennessis Hotel wishes to welcome you back .
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good, comfortable hotel to stay, Good Breakfast, Clean and Nice to stay with Family, Friends and Business colleagues.
Good Food, Good House Keeping. Location ideal for business district, malls and plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hennessis for a two weeks on a work trip. The staff were incredibly hospitable and very welcoming and the whole place felt safe. As an Australian with blonde hair I stood out among the almost entirely African clientele but it gave the feeling of really being in Kenya as opposed to staying a large hotel which was nice.

The hotel is safe with good security. The rooms are on the small side with tiled floors (pack slippers!) but perfectly serviceable for a short trip and a short walk to local markets.

Wifi is free but does not work in some rooms so if wifi is important be sure to request a room that definitely has good wifi reception. Unlike some African hotels the shower has hot water (provided you don't put the water on full ball).

Room Tip: Request a room with a good wifi signal. Room 210-212 had great signal but for some reason 206-209 do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you only need a place to sleep, this is fine. The security is good and the staff members are polite. The central courtyard is a nice touch. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are worn and in need of repair. The loud music from the local club could be heard until 2 am. WiFi was good during the day, but at night would not always work. Average at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel gives value for money, stylish , room are small but ok for the price we paid for. They had a comprehensive menu for dinner with different cuisine . Breakfast was ok at least they are one of the hotels with a variety. A bit out of town but not so far . Staff were friendly only during one of the staff started cleaning under our feet ....restaurant wasn't closed so he didn't really have to but had an attitude when we asked why , clearly showed us we were late and needed to leave. But all in all would still recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hennessis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessis Hotel

Address: Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hennessis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hennessis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.