We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for real Africans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hennessis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hennessis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hotel for real Africans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hennessis for a two weeks on a work trip. The staff were incredibly hospitable and very welcoming and the whole place felt safe. As an Australian with blonde hair I stood out among the almost entirely African clientele but it gave the feeling of really being in Kenya as opposed to staying a large hotel which was nice.

The hotel is safe with good security. The rooms are on the small side with tiled floors (pack slippers!) but perfectly serviceable for a short trip and a short walk to local markets.

Wifi is free but does not work in some rooms so if wifi is important be sure to request a room that definitely has good wifi reception. Unlike some African hotels the shower has hot water (provided you don't put the water on full ball).

Room Tip: Request a room with a good wifi signal. Room 210-212 had great signal but for some reason 206-209 do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you only need a place to sleep, this is fine. The security is good and the staff members are polite. The central courtyard is a nice touch. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are worn and in need of repair. The loud music from the local club could be heard until 2 am. WiFi was good during the day, but at night would not always work. Average at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel gives value for money, stylish , room are small but ok for the price we paid for. They had a comprehensive menu for dinner with different cuisine . Breakfast was ok at least they are one of the hotels with a variety. A bit out of town but not so far . Staff were friendly only during one of the staff started cleaning under our feet ....restaurant wasn't closed so he didn't really have to but had an attitude when we asked why , clearly showed us we were late and needed to leave. But all in all would still recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here as a last minute plan with my boyfriend. We just needed a quiet place but near the Nairobi City center. We knew someone who had been at the hotel before so we tried it out. There is a big gate at the entrance and the guard welcomed us in. The reception was well presented and we were welcomed by a lady (who was not smiling but knew her job well) and a porter who was very friendly and warm. He showed us the room before we paid. Then we filled in a form with our details on showing them our identification and then were given room 314 which on entering was too noisy as it was just adjacent to a bar outside that had immensely loud music. So we went back to the reception and requested them to give us room 101 which they had earlier shown us. This room and the ones next to it are much quieter! The bed was big and comfortable, the toilet and bathroom were clean and their hot shower was working, he towels were fresh just a small flaw was the bathroom water didn't flow out easily. The room had a tv, the bed was surrounded by a net and there was a small table and chair and 2 water bottles in the room. The view from the window was the main road though we didn't even notice this as there was no noise int he morning when we woke up. The room also has 2 big cabinets, with drawers and a safe inside one of the cabinets. The check out time was 10 a.m. The cost was 4,500 Kshs for a double room including breakfast. This was the best breakfast I had had for this cost! There was tea, cereals, muesli, a wide selection of fruits, sausages, baked beans, liver, vegetables, sweet potatoes, arrow roots, potato wedges and fresh fruit juice. It was all you could eat and you could have seconds if needed. All in all this was the most value I had gotten at such a price in a long time! However I would like to see some fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce etc also served during breakfast :-) I would recommend this to anyone who wants some quiet nights and still be within the vicinity of the city center!

Room Tip: room 101 and the ones next to it are quieter than 314 and the ones on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

with my birthday approaching and being the explorer/dining adveturer that I am i decided to sample this hotel that`s located close to the U.N headquarters and Nairobi entertainment hotspots Westlands, what i thought to be my dinner sample ended up being a sleep-over. reason the ambience and the hospitality offerred.

Room Tip: superior rooms are spacious and have a mini bar and a kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es salaam ,Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

i arrived in this hotel and find my room was booked,via my company Hello Tanzania Tours.
i stayed in this hotel for 4nights and found this place very nice/safe and very helpful staff and the manager was very friendy indeed.
since am in the Tourists industry, i promised her that i will bring more and more clients.

Breakfast - very nice and lots of food.staff working at this point very helpful.

i will recommend this hotel to other clients and agents in Tanzania as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor - are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Right from the time you enter the hotel the reception is good security is been taken care of i met a gentle man and a lady who were doing the search and this really encouraged me.....the ladies at the reception and the staff at the restaurant were very friendly and had very tasty pork chops. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have got a mini bar and coffee makers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hennessis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessis Hotel

Address: Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hennessis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hennessis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.