We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self reward de'tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hennessis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hennessis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“self reward de'tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

with my birthday approaching and being the explorer/dining adveturer that I am i decided to sample this hotel that`s located close to the U.N headquarters and Nairobi entertainment hotspots Westlands, what i thought to be my dinner sample ended up being a sleep-over. reason the ambience and the hospitality offerred.

Room Tip: superior rooms are spacious and have a mini bar and a kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es salaam ,Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

i arrived in this hotel and find my room was booked,via my company Hello Tanzania Tours.
i stayed in this hotel for 4nights and found this place very nice/safe and very helpful staff and the manager was very friendy indeed.
since am in the Tourists industry, i promised her that i will bring more and more clients.

Breakfast - very nice and lots of food.staff working at this point very helpful.

i will recommend this hotel to other clients and agents in Tanzania as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor - are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Right from the time you enter the hotel the reception is good security is been taken care of i met a gentle man and a lady who were doing the search and this really encouraged me.....the ladies at the reception and the staff at the restaurant were very friendly and had very tasty pork chops. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have got a mini bar and coffee makers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

@this hotel,i felt like an actor, i got what i wanted,had magazines to kill time at the reception area i had a mini refrigerator to put my stuff, bout my sleep "the most sleeping influence factor is the mattress quality, sleeping on a sagging mattress puts the back in an unbalanced, stressful position that can cause problems to develop. a good mattress is firm,not too hard, and the bed should also be large enough to allow freedom of changing positions" and that is exactly what i got, the bar was well stocked especially with south African wines my spouse favourite and chile my favorite, and a state of the ART restaurant .

Room Tip: superior rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

i have always loved to stay at Hennessis until one day when i stayed there and ordered for my breakfast to be brought in very early-at 6:30 as i needed to leave the hotel at 7:00 for a crucial business deal meeting at 8:00. Even despite confirming to the receptionist again at 6:00 and calling the kitchen at 6:15- my breakfast did not arrive. As i was leaving the room at 7:05 is when we met with the waitress bringing in the food. i refused to go back to the room and take the same as i was already late. on getting to the reception,i complained to the manager who hurriedly told the waitress to have the breakfast wrapped for me without my knowledge. when the waitress showed up with the small package in the name of breakfast i could not believe it and refused to carry it. They delayed me at the reception all the while my taxi was waiting trying to plead that i carry the bread they had packed for me. I mentioned that since i was a regular guess there they should give me a discount the equivalent of the breakfast amount- the manager promised to contact me once he had informed his bosses- almost 7 months down the line am still waiting for his call.Needless to say i missed out on a business deal, paid waiting charges on the cab and went without breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is nice enough for a brief stay, but it is loud. There is a nightclub at the bottom of the hotel. It stays open until the last person leaves. I was there on a Saturday night, so it was still going on at 2:30 a.m. when I finally left the hotel. There is no way of avoiding the bass.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed there in March 2011 for a couple of weeks. I went to Nairobi for my work and I was traveling with 3 more colleagues. Two of them, who stayed in a separate bedrooms, went through a rather nasty experience. They were just outside the reception smoking a cigarette when somebody among the staff 'invited' them to have a drink in the bar downstairs while somebody else would take pictures of them for advertising purposes. They accepted the invitation gladly, but once they returned to their bedroom after scarcely one hour, they found out that somebody had entered the room WITH A KEY FROM THE HOTEL, since there were no other signs of the robbery. Their laptop, camera and cell phone had vanished. When we contacted the manager of the place, they insultingly suggested that we had no way of proving that those things were indeed there before the 'accident'. They did not apologize for what had happened, even if it was very clear that people among the staff were undoubtedly implicated.To sum up, they were not very empathic and it made us feel quite frustrated. After much negotiation (and much pressure from our partners in Nairobi, I must say), our friends were offered a 1000 euro compensation for the stolen goods.
For the rest, we were quite happy with the place until that happened. The place is new, the rooms were fine (though the safes were portable, if I remember correctly..), clean and spacious (at least the one I stayed in). The restaurant was OK, but the food was not varied at all and I would say not very healthy either.
It's a pity the management is not more competent with their own employees.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hennessis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessis Hotel

Address: Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hennessis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hennessis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.