We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hennessis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hennessis Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not going back..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed there in March 2011 for a couple of weeks. I went to Nairobi for my work and I was traveling with 3 more colleagues. Two of them, who stayed in a separate bedrooms, went through a rather nasty experience. They were just outside the reception smoking a cigarette when somebody among the staff 'invited' them to have a drink in the bar downstairs while somebody else would take pictures of them for advertising purposes. They accepted the invitation gladly, but once they returned to their bedroom after scarcely one hour, they found out that somebody had entered the room WITH A KEY FROM THE HOTEL, since there were no other signs of the robbery. Their laptop, camera and cell phone had vanished. When we contacted the manager of the place, they insultingly suggested that we had no way of proving that those things were indeed there before the 'accident'. They did not apologize for what had happened, even if it was very clear that people among the staff were undoubtedly implicated.To sum up, they were not very empathic and it made us feel quite frustrated. After much negotiation (and much pressure from our partners in Nairobi, I must say), our friends were offered a 1000 euro compensation for the stolen goods.
For the rest, we were quite happy with the place until that happened. The place is new, the rooms were fine (though the safes were portable, if I remember correctly..), clean and spacious (at least the one I stayed in). The restaurant was OK, but the food was not varied at all and I would say not very healthy either.
It's a pity the management is not more competent with their own employees.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I reviewed this hotel earlier. I returned in August and stayed another 5 days. I wanted to update my review. Most of the rooms do have netting. It seemsthat the only room without netting is the room I stayed in earlier. Still a good value, nice rooms, decent food, and great staff. I will come back again.

The quiestest rooms face the courtyard. They do have some very small rooms but also some larger rooms. Having a clean room with hot water outweighed my wish for a little more space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed here June 2011 and the hotel was nice and clean (especially for the price). The room was very small, but had a window onto the courtyard which was nice and quiet (much better than the Kenya Comfort Inn in that respect). Also the restaurant is nice, but as a single, female Mzungu, the bar was no place for me. I would definitely recommend it for a budget traveler who is visiting the National Museum of Kenya (walking distance). No computers for public use, but the manager let me use his which was very kind.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed for several days at this newly opened hotel. I work with an educational tour group and we booked twenty or so rooms. The hotel is very classy and well appointed for the price. Everything is new , works well and is clean. The lift is still being installed so if you are in a fourth floor room be prepared for a hike. One suggestion for the hotel management - there are no nets nor are there hooks to hang nets. This would make sleep much better. Really nice bathrooms. One other small problem is the the mini single rooms do not have a dresser or cupboard for putting things in so a luggage rack would be nice. But these are small issues in a otherwise really nicely done property. Good pub as well with better then expected grub.

This would be a great place for folks who are staying for a day or so and going on safari; it has good security, nice rooms and very friendly professional and helpful staff at very reasonable rates. This is a family run hotel and the care that they take is evident in the operations and quality.

Room Tip: Upper floor are very quiet but ask if the lift has been installed! The inner rooms look over a prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hennessis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessis Hotel

Address: Along Limuru road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hennessis Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hennessis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.