We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Heritage House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
African Heritage House
Save Saved
You added African Heritage House to your Saves list
Mombasa Road | Box 17871, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Galivants Ferry, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a grueling flight from the US, we were welcomed into Alan's beautiful home with open arms! The house itself is full of interesting African art and it is a delight to just soak it all in. Alan gave us a tour of the house and it is amazing just to imagine the life he has lived. The staff is always eager to please and prepared us a lovely brunch upon our arrival to eat out on the veranda that overlooks Nairobi National Park. Our first five minutes out there we saw an ostrich, some giraffe and some gazelles grazing in the distance. Our only regret was that we did not have enough time to enjoy it more.....we only spent one night before heading out on our safari. The evening meal was so delicious and we ate out on the veranda and watched the sunset....it was a lovely evening with Alan who is a gracious host. If you want an experience above and beyond any place you have stayed before, book here. You will be making a memory that will last a lifetime!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that had three beds....the views are spectacular. All rooms looked amazing h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It feels like staying in a museum in African Heritage House. It is a wonderful place to take photos with a raw taste of Africa. The decorations and collections in the house are just exactly looks like my imagination about East Africa tribe. The Nairobi National Park is just in front of the house, you can sometimes see or hear wildlives at the veranda. On the day I checked out, 2 lovely monkeys broke into my room and ate my bananas and apples, they escaped through the big tree in the courtyard when they found that I saw them.
The location of the house is 15 minutes drive from airport but a bit far from centre. It is good for tourism, but not for business if you want to go to the centre or industrial zone.
All staffs in the house are helpful and friendly. It is a good experience to stay here while you are tired with common mordern hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and our family of 8 just stayed at the African Heritage House for 3 nights. What an amazing experience! if you want way more than you will ever get from a bed and breakfast or most definitely from a hotel, this is the place to be! When we arrived there were 3 giraffes right out on the open field! The accommodations are lovely with fabulous views and our family thoroughly enjoyed listening to Alan Donovan's (the owner) stories of all the beautiful things in his home. The staff were very kind and attentive. Unfortunately, while we had read up on his place before travel, we had no idea how wonderful it would be and did not a lot enough time to truly enjoy it! We will be back Alan and hope to stay for much longer! Do yourself a favor and pick this as your place to stay in Nairobi. You will not be disappointed!
Mark Bush and Kellie Wile-Bush

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing with wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful place for one night+++
We were looking for a place close to the airport to spend our last night and the next day ( which was our anniversary day ), after our safari holiday in the Maasai Mara. We did not wish to go into Nairobi but wanted a nice place to stay the last day, where we could relax and stay till late at night before our international flight which left in the middle of the night.
I was lucky enough to find this gem on tripadvisor and sent a mail asking for availability and if we could stay untill late the next day. We received a quick and very positive reply from the owner , who wished us welcome to his place, he could give us full board and we were welcome to stay until midnight the next day!!!!!! We were very happy about this and booked it, we did not realize then what a fantastic place we were privileged to stay at!!!!
When we arrived we were really overhvelmed by the beauty of the house and its perfect location, with an awesome view over The Nairobi national park and surrounding hills.
We arrived just in time to see the beautiful sunset over the park and a full moon rising from the other direction - magical!!!! We sat on the roof terrace with the owner and were spellbound by the scene!!!
After this we were lucky to be accompanied by the owner of the house Allan Donnovan for dinner in the rooftop room, where he filled us in on some of the history and details about the house. The house is his home and also a museum, both himself and his house have a fascinating background and it was very interesting to read his book about it the next day!!!!
We were shown to our room - the Lamai suite which was just amazing, it was like living in a museum, but not cold.....very personal and warm with a wonderful atmosphere and history in every corner!!! The bed we slept in was a 200 year old bed from the island Lamu, there were antiques and art all around us, and they were not just on display - they were to be used by the guests!!!! The bathroom was great, with a outdoor garden on the side and lovely details with a stone bath and shower and of course antiques and art everywhere!!!
We had our own terrace overlooking the savannah of the park with a cosy couch with lots of lovely pillows that we could relax on and look out at the animals in the park. In the morning when the sun came up we saw lots of animals just down from the house, we even thought we saw a lion - very exciting!!!!!
We were served coffe in our room and then breakfast on one of the big sun terrasses by the wonderful staff working in the house. Even the dishes and glasses they used were pieces of art, so delicately decked out. We spent the day lazing in the sun on the terrasses and by the pool, we also wandered around the house and gardens and marvelled at the different rooms and pieces of art!!!! We stood under the romantic " wedding tree " and felt very lucky for having chosen this place to spend our wedding anniversary and our last day in Africa!!!
We were served a delicious lunch in the pool house and afterwards we sipped wine and dozed on the sunbeds and took in the wonderful view !!!
In the evening the owner gave us a guided tour of the house which was very interesting and informative, we had read a lot of his book during the day so it was extra interesting to hear about the different pieces.
He also showed us some of his jewellery that he makes, and I was of course tempted to buy a piece, African inspired and right in my taste, I should have bought more......well next time!!!!
In the evening we ate again in the rooftop room with our host, he is a well of information and a really nice guy to spend time with, a lovely way to spend the evening.
After dinner we used the opportunity to take a long lovely bath in the fantastic bathroom of our wonderful room, and then gaze out at the park and the stars until our taxi came as ordered at midnight to take us to the airport.
What a perfect way to spend our day and evening , instead of waiting in the Nairobi airport for hours!!!!
Thank you so much Mr Allan Donnovan for giving us the opportunity to stay with you in your amazing home and museum, you have a truly unique place which has a wonderful warm and friendly atmosphere, its a place where it is a pleasure to spend time......and we hope to come back in the future and spend even more time in your lovely oasis!!!!!
Monica and Knut

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and all are different. We stayed in the Lamai suite which was wonderful with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved the African Heritage House. Furnished in antiques from Africa . Some featured in Out of Africa. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and views of the African plains. Woke up on the top floor huge room with views of plains and seeing wild animals roaming. Meals were served on different balconies at different meals and sometimes even at the pool house near the plains. Alan, our host was full of information about Africa and Kenya as he is always involved in opening museums and the like in Kenya. This hotel is an institution and Alan is known throughout Africa.
We were told it was an interesting hotel like a museum and that Alan was a character who is a great introduction to Kenya. He is up on almost everything going on around there. His staff was kind and very considerate. He also had a driver lined up for salaries and tours. This is not a Marriott. This is an African palace that is much more intimate and caters to people who are seeking special ,private and a unique experience. We loved it all. The pool was a treat. The meals were delicious . Please enjoy. He also caters destination weddings and parties of all sorts.

Room Tip: If there are two or three, ask for the top floor great room with lots of decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As a lover of African history, this is one place you should visit.
Alan Donovan has travelled all over Africa collecting works of art that represent various groups in the continent.
It truly feels I awesome-knowing your continent and people more.
Did it with my girlfriends and then topped it with an out of this world African dinner with excellent value service.
It's definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved visiting and staying at the African Heritage House in Jan 2013. Alan's tour of his incredibly rich African art collection was a dream. The guest rooms and sitting areas are like being in a fascinating, well curated & decorated museum. There are a variety of relaxing zones to have rest and relax. Alan and his lovely staff are so very hospitable. Thank you for such a memorable stay! It's conveniently very close to the airport thus a great option for first or last nights in Nairobi. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heritage House

Address: Mombasa Road | Box 17871, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Heritage House overlooking the Nairobi National Parkis described by the prestigious Architectural Digest as " a vision of usefulness informed by the African genius for decoration" Designed by American Alan Donovan, the house is a combination of architectural styles from across the continent. Tours of the house interior reveal the beauty of Africa's art and crafts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.