We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Heritage House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
African Heritage House
Mombasa Road | Box 17871, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
“A must see in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The architecture, the decor and of course, the setting make African heritage house one of the most magical places for a getaway you could imagine. From the moment you pull up to the stunning house no matter what your eye falls on , you will be awestruck and delighted. Alan s collection of artefacts is stunning and his warm welcome make you just sit back, relax and enjoy your every moment in his enchanted home. Thanks, from Julia and hesham.

Room Tip: Every single room is as breathtaking as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the African Heritage House for a day night and night and loved it so much we came back at the end of our holiday! It was our first time in Nairobi and needed somewhere to stay over night. This was the most perfect place, it's close to the airport, and is in the most amazing location (away from the hussle and bussle of the city) and looks over the whole of Nairobi's national park - where I saw elephants giraffe and rhino from our bedroom! The house is breathtakingly beautiful down to the tiniest detail. We were completely blown away when we arrived, and our bedroom (and every other bedroom) was beautiful - I felt like I was staying in complete luxury! We arrived very early in the morning so when we got there we went straight to sleep and then Alan arranged for a light lunch at mid day. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there and i have to say the food was very fresh and absolutely delicious. During the day we relaxed by the pool which is completely hidden away by beautiful flowers, plants and trees - it was perfect after our long flight! We then had a tour around the house by Alan, which is a must, the house is full of so much history it's fascinating. In the evening we went up to the roof and had sun downers and supper with Alan. The view from up there was breathtaking - as you can see by the photos! In the morning we were served a delicious breakfast and then Alan arranged a taxi for us to take us back to the airport to fly to the coast.
I cannot recommend the African heritage house enough, the hospitality was perfect, we were made to feel very welcome and we were looked after very well! It was definitely one of the highlights of our holiday - and we loved it so much we returned at the end! It was absolutely beautiful there and completely inspiring, we definitely hope to return again soon. Thank you Alan!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

On our last day in Africa, we found ourselves with a few hours layover before our flight to London. My sister and brother in law had the pleasure of spending a couple of nights at African Heritage House and suggested that we have dinner there. What a beautiful and interesting evening we had. Meeting Alan is quite an experience and we so enjoyed having dinner with him. We started out with iced tea by the restful and beautiful swimming pool surrounded by interesting African artwork. We took a tour of the house and it is amazing and filled with priceless treasures. Dinner was served on the third floor with an unbelievable view of the sunset. Dinner was delicious and he even had a birthday cake and candles to celebrate my birthday. If you have the chance to visit with Alan at his beautiful home, you should definitely do it. The guest rooms will transport you to another plateau with their antiques and unique furnishings. He has some beautiful jewelry, fabrics, books, etc. for sale, but does not take credit cards. So, I would suggest you bring some cash, so you can go shopping. His home is very close to Jomo Kenyatta airport and Alan will even send a driver to pick you up. Can Hardly wait for my next visit with Alan at his lovely home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The African Heritage House (AHH) is Frommer's #1 Tourist Attraction! It's been featured in numerous architectural magazines and fashion shoots. This unique and special place is a revered landmark in Nairobi! Living in South Africa, my Kenyan friends tell me so! It's open for tours and lunch, but why not stay? AHH has so much to see that you definitely can't see it all in one tour! I have stayed twice-- with my sister in October 2011 and originally in October 2010 after a business trip and on our way to the gorgeous beaches south of Mombasa. AHH is so conveniently located to the Airport in this very busy city that it was great not to deal with the added traffic of coming from the City, but was close enough to go into the city when we wanted.

All of the suites at AHH are also unique in decor and design. They're very comfortable and all rooms but one have views out to the Nairobi National Park (that room, however, is huge!). I slept very soundly, but my sister very excitedly could hear lions roaring in the Park at night! You can definitely be transported back to the days of Karen Blixen's OUT OF AFRICA! (Her plantation is a neighbor.) Alan Donovan, owner and host, tells how the annual wildebeast migration would pass right in front of his house! Nowadays too many fences have diverted this amazing phenomenon, but he has photos for you to imagine it! Meals served on the terraces overlooking the Athi Plains and Park are a real treat.

Alan is another reason to go to the African Heritage House. He's a local legend. He's lived in Nairobi for 40 years and made a name for himself there and internationally. He's written his life story in a fascinating book, MY JOURNEY THROUGH AFRICAN HERITAGE. Alan is welcoming, accommodating, interesting and extremely knowledgable about all the incredible arts and crafts of Africa. His home is a testament to his love for this heritage, elevating even the everyday functional item to artform in this amazingly distinctive place!

Don't be dissuaded to visit because it's noted to be the #1 tourist attraction; it's not overrun with visitors and it doesn't interfere with your own visit. We had one couple come while we stayed there-- the Kenyan Chief Supreme Court Justice and his wife. Even the locals know what a treasure the AHH is! If internationally acclaimed guests such as Teri Hatcher (Desperate Housewives) and Roland Joffe (Killing Fields director) among others, are any indication, you're in good company here! I'd defnitely recommend this as your best and most extraordinary choice in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you are flush with money, this is an amazing place to stay. Alan Donovan has been one of the foremost collectors, promoters and sellers of African art and crafts over the past 40 years. His incredible house is like a museum, full of superb African sculptures, textiles, paintings, clothes, furniture, masks, etc etc. And as a guest, you get to wander, eat, and sleep in the house/museum, looking out over the Athi Plains and Nairobi National Park (Not sure why TripAdvisor has the address as Central Island National Park). Alan himself shows you around the house, and usually eats with you.

It is not cheap, but it is worth it if you love African architecture, crafts, and art.

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

African Heritage House is more than accomodations- it's an experience. Not only are the rooms spacious and comfortable, the view over Nairobi National Park is second to none.

My sister and I stayed here for 5 days, 4 nights. Alan had a driver pick us up and take us back to the airport which was only a short distance away. We had a hot dinner ready for us when we got there, and every need anticipated for us in advance (beds turned down with netting in place, bottled water in our rooms).

My room was the Lamu suite which has a veranda overlooking Nairobi National Park. The bed was comfortable and I had a private bath with a beautiful stone tub and shower. At night I could hear lions in the park (amazing!) and by day I could see zebras and giraffes grazing a short distance away.

There's a beautiful pool house and pool for relaxing by, and we enjoyed a glass of wine there one afternoon. Getting into Nairobi proper is a bit difficult, as traffic in Nairobi is horrific, but again, Alan arranged for a driver to take us into town. Besides going to Nairobi National Park, we visited the Karen Blixen House and grounds, the animal orphange at Daphne Sheldricks, the giraffe manor, and the Murumbi Gallery for some Kenyan history, all a short distance away.

But most amazing of all is the collection of African artifacts that Alan has collected here. Carved gourds, bakuba cloth, jewelry, African buffalo shields with lion tails, beaded aprons, and all sorts of historical carvings, headdresses and such. Mr Donovan is interesting, knowledgeable, and unforgettable.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor, and I could hear lions in the park at night. My sister was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We met w/ Alan for lunch (fabulous) and a tour of the property (eveyr room amazing) prior to flying out - and regret not staying at his place during our layovers in Nairobi. I recommend stopping for at least and meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) and tour. Oh how I wish I could have spent a day at that pool, drinking cocktails and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heritage House

Address: Mombasa Road | Box 17871, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Heritage House overlooking the Nairobi National Parkis described by the prestigious Architectural Digest as " a vision of usefulness informed by the African genius for decoration" Designed by American Alan Donovan, the house is a combination of architectural styles from across the continent. Tours of the house interior reveal the beauty of Africa's art and crafts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added African Heritage House to your Saves list