We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Strand Hotel by all means!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid the Strand Hotel by all means!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I got stranded at the Strand "hotel" in search for a place near Nairobi airport to rest all day in between two flights. I specifically asked for a quiet room, and was assigned one that faces an apartment building where just a few meters away children were playing and screaming all day. Wifi didn't work for most of the time. The faucet in the bathroom didn't work and water was only available by operating the main faucet underneath the sink. The door was difficult to lock. There was only cold water in the shower. Toilet paper is of the kind that you need to fold 5 times before you can use it. The room is so small it just accommodates the bed; no space for luggage, or to sit and work with a computer. This is a shabby place, run down, and obviously operated to prey on unsuspecting guests that are referred to this "hotel" by an airport agency. I complained repeatedly on the various shortcomings of the room, but the only reaction of the receptionist was a silly smirk. The hotel manager was unavailable. Lunch at the hotel's restaurant was very poor, but there are no reasonable restaurants in the rather this squalid neighbourhood. The price for one night is 100 USD. In most developing countries, a place like this would cost hardly more than 15-20 USD. Avoid this hotel by al means!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I thought I was saving money but it wasn't even worth the $100. Maybe $50 tops. Rationed toilet paper, no shampoo, the mosquito net had a giant space so we were eaten alive. Noisy, & not so great restaurant. My door lock was impossible to work. The front desk arranged a taxi who cost us a fortune and when we prearranged a ride to the airport with hotel staff, the driver had taken off to lake Nakuru??? The front desk lady was not helpful at all and could care less that they did not provide a promised ride!

Room Tip: don't choose one at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

What can I say! Rooms tiny and dirty. Did not even get undressed and attempt to get into bed, for $100 US dollars for a single room for one night I find staggering!!! Staff are friendly enough and try their best. Did not feel safe in this hotel. Area is not the best so no escape!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our Tanzania safari operator, Naturebeauties, send us to this hotel to spend our first nigth of the tour from Kenia to Tanzania
The hotel is in a squalid quarter of Nairobi. The room was quite small and the bath orrible!
The worst, is that we slept in Strand Hotel for only one night, but we were charged three nights. When we tried to pay with my credit card (twice) they told us the card didn't run. We trusted them, and payed with my boyfriend's one. At the end we realised we were charged 3 night (1 on my my credit card, and 2 on my boyfriend's one), with no chance to have our money back (we wrote the hotel and Naturebeauties several time, but with no answer).
So, stay away from Strand Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks. We had 2 laptops and an iPad stolen from our locked room in the 30 minutes we took to have breakfast.

The restaurant never had half the meals on the menu, they would lie to us and tell us that they defiantly had the item today, then take 15 minutes to come back and tell us they did not. We were the only ones in the restaurant.

The showers are terrible and rarely hot, and there is big enough pressure to flush the toilets properly, so you are regularly having to use the plunger! There are also a lot of Mosquitos, and you find yourself captive in your mosquito net at night! There are about 4 channels, football and !3 other local ones and all this for an inflated price!!!

The area feels really sketchy, it is dirty on the Street and there are a lot of loud meatbars.

This is the only place I have been in the world where you don't want to carry your valuables on the street, and can't trust the hotel, not in the safe and sure as hell not the rooms. Where does that leave you!!

We have moved hotels, wiped the slate clean and are going to give Nairobi another go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First, on a positive note, almost to a person, the staff is wonderful! The food was ok.
However, the hotel has some serious problems to address if they want to remain relevant and competitive in Nairobi. The facility is deplorable at best-- doors barely lock, rooms tiny and over-used towels, etc, etc. Wi-fi sketchy a real-downer for folks on business trips. Having stayed in many other facilities in Nairobi over the years, I felt robbed at the Strand Hotel.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are roomier with more lighting but still not worthy $100. The water is hardly hot...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The price for double room does not match the standard. We have paid more than 100 USD for the very small room with small bed. Basically the room seemed to be a single, there was only one pillow and the second towel was brought later. The room and bathroom were not clean enough. Moreover the place was noisy from 6 a.m. and when we wanted to take a shower in the morning... there was no water. Fortunately we found the other hotel very close to the Strand. One-third of the price, more clean and much bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#27 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#55 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#32 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.