We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

What can I say! Rooms tiny and dirty. Did not even get undressed and attempt to get into bed, for $100 US dollars for a single room for one night I find staggering!!! Staff are friendly enough and try their best. Did not feel safe in this hotel. Area is not the best so no escape!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pistoia, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our Tanzania safari operator, Naturebeauties, send us to this hotel to spend our first nigth of the tour from Kenia to Tanzania
The hotel is in a squalid quarter of Nairobi. The room was quite small and the bath orrible!
The worst, is that we slept in Strand Hotel for only one night, but we were charged three nights. When we tried to pay with my credit card (twice) they told us the card didn't run. We trusted them, and payed with my boyfriend's one. At the end we realised we were charged 3 night (1 on my my credit card, and 2 on my boyfriend's one), with no chance to have our money back (we wrote the hotel and Naturebeauties several time, but with no answer).
So, stay away from Strand Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks. We had 2 laptops and an iPad stolen from our locked room in the 30 minutes we took to have breakfast.

The restaurant never had half the meals on the menu, they would lie to us and tell us that they defiantly had the item today, then take 15 minutes to come back and tell us they did not. We were the only ones in the restaurant.

The showers are terrible and rarely hot, and there is big enough pressure to flush the toilets properly, so you are regularly having to use the plunger! There are also a lot of Mosquitos, and you find yourself captive in your mosquito net at night! There are about 4 channels, football and !3 other local ones and all this for an inflated price!!!

The area feels really sketchy, it is dirty on the Street and there are a lot of loud meatbars.

This is the only place I have been in the world where you don't want to carry your valuables on the street, and can't trust the hotel, not in the safe and sure as hell not the rooms. Where does that leave you!!

We have moved hotels, wiped the slate clean and are going to give Nairobi another go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First, on a positive note, almost to a person, the staff is wonderful! The food was ok.
However, the hotel has some serious problems to address if they want to remain relevant and competitive in Nairobi. The facility is deplorable at best-- doors barely lock, rooms tiny and over-used towels, etc, etc. Wi-fi sketchy a real-downer for folks on business trips. Having stayed in many other facilities in Nairobi over the years, I felt robbed at the Strand Hotel.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are roomier with more lighting but still not worthy $100. The water is hardly hot...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The price for double room does not match the standard. We have paid more than 100 USD for the very small room with small bed. Basically the room seemed to be a single, there was only one pillow and the second towel was brought later. The room and bathroom were not clean enough. Moreover the place was noisy from 6 a.m. and when we wanted to take a shower in the morning... there was no water. Fortunately we found the other hotel very close to the Strand. One-third of the price, more clean and much bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our group of 5 people stayed here both on arrival in Nairobi and before departure to Dubai. We were on a safari arranged by a local tour company. We stayed in 6 different rooms, and most of the rooms did not have working hot water. Half the rooms had either front doors that could not be locked, or bathroom doors that could not close properly. This hotel needed some major maintenance done soon. This was our worst hotel experience in Kenya over an 8 day period.

Food however was quite good. We had breakfasts and dinners here. The neighbourhood did not look too safe for foreigners to roam around looking for a place to eat.

There is free Wifi, with signal strongest in the reception area or some of the rooms. Several PCs were available for free to access internet.

Service from the staff was enthusiastic and warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have been to The Strand hotel twice now and the experience have had makes one to come back over and over again...there is serenity and privacy in their rooms, The food is exquisite, samptuos and pre pared in an open kitchen concept , staff are warm to be around offering the best service and attention to details. I love their resident lounge which is cozy and serves local and international beverages.
They have a plus in terms of location being located a few minutes from the Nairobi City Centre and the airports which makes it a wonderful location for both local and international tourists as well as the business traveler.
Another plus is their office at the International airport which facilitates transfers to and from the hotel at very discounted rates and service is professionally executed with their branded shuttles and helpful staff. Keep it up will be back soon.

Room Tip: room with a bacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;