We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this trap - Don't let airport hotel kiosks recommend this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from this trap - Don't let airport hotel kiosks recommend this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Was desperate to find accom during my long layover in Nairobi this week. Recommended by the hotel booking Kiosk at airport. This hotel is in a dirty industrial part of Nairobi - Nairobi west. not really close to airport either. Disgusting tiny room for $ 100. Noisy and looks out onto run down apartment building. Dirty sheets. Filthy bathroom - sink pipe didnt connect to outlet so all the water poured onto the floor -including all the grime trapped in the pipes. Not worth $20!.. and people kept trying to open my door throughout the time I was there. I left and went back to sit at the airport instead.
Dont let them book you a cab either!. extra $$$... "we run a business afterall" was her response!. Tourist TRAP!

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more.. and get a decent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Strand Hotel in Nairobi, no affiliation to the other International Strand Hotels chain, is located on the edge of the CBD in a packed neighbourhood with lots other small business. The area has 24hour establishments, a hospital and other hotels nearby. Security within the hotel is fair bu venturing out late for especially a foreigner would be inviting trouble upon oneself.

The hotel has airport transfers in a comfortable van or sedan at 20 dollars one way, comparable to the standard taxi cab charge.

Inside, the establishment is in a scrumped up plot and space is wanting. The lobby if any is just basic. Really, this is an Inn for an overnight when you lack all other options.

The rooms are equally scrumpy, with residential houses on either side of your room and neither side enjoying any privacy. My double had a single small and thin piece of clothe for the towel, no lotions and wire coat hangers.

Cleanliness is fair and the resident restaurant fare is not enticing. The in room CRT TV reception is grainy and the owners' office is round your room's door.

Overall, the experience at The Strand is of a highway motel with the bare basics. For a real good night's rest, looks elsewhere especially if you love space around you. With the $75 tag, this place is overly priced beyond what is offers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

I spent six nights here this week and overall was happy. It's not the Hilton, but it's a friendly safe place to stay. my only issue was the mosquito net had a hole in. But, when I pointed that out they sorted that out. If you want a sub $50 hotel you could do much worse.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We chose this hotel as there are no hotels at the airport in Nairobi, something that really needs to be fixed! It was reasonably priced, had a good looking website, appears on western sites such as Hotels.com, and was close to the main road out to the airport.

I can't help but feel that The Strand spend all their money on advertising to a western market, and on monogrammed sheets. The room felt cheap and unpleasant, certainly not worth the amount we paid for it.

The room was very small, barely big enough for the double bed, desk and chair it contained. The bed was pushed up against the wall with the windows, and so against the old, musty smelling brown and gold curtains. The desk was less than 2 feet from the end of the bed, the chair certainly couldn't be used to sit at the desk! On it there was an old tv- on which only one channel seemed to work and an ancient looking telephone. Above the bed hung a slightly musty mosquito net. But the bed did indeed have monogrammed sheets, like on the website! In addition to the horrible brown curtains, two walls were painted bright orange- not exactly restful. The door did not quite meet the floor and so light from the veranda style landing poured in all night. The windows were old fashioned and could not be locked at all, even though the hotel is behind a gate and walls with a security guard this felt very unsafe. The bathroom was tiny, and laid out like on a yacht with the shower above the toilet and sink, as we were only there overnight we did not use the shower so I can't comment on how good it was. While clean the bathroom had no ventilation so it did not smell pleasant.

We slept terribly, the room was hot and stuffy even though it was not a hot night in Nairobi. When we opened the windows it simply amplified the already annoying noise of traffic, gates banging and people shouting. Only one street away from a main road The Strand is in a busy area surrounded by high rises and less than salubrious looking bars. The road itself is almost impassable for potholes.

Overall I was incredibly pleased to be leaving in the morning. We did not eat breakfast as we had such and early flight although it was included in the room rate, to be quite honest I didn't want to eat anything there. We were there less that 12 hours, but they were not pleasant restful ones.

We also used our own taxi rather than the hotel shuttle to the airport, and our journey to the airport was quick and traffic free though it was very early.

I have travelled to Kenya many many times, and understand that it may seem harsh to judge a local hotel against the standards I have for a western one, however I have stayed in considerably better value places in Kenya. Given the impression given by the hotel website and advertising, and the fact that it was not exactly cheap I was incredibly disappointed by my whole experience.

Shell out a little more money and maybe get up a little earlier and stay elsewhere rather than taint your memory of Kenya by spending your last night here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Gandhi Avenue | Nairobi West, Nairobi 00300, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;