We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mukutan Garden Cafe

Mukutan Garden Cafe
Biship Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: restaurant inside Fairview Hotel but many people from outside the hotel eat here
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfast room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Internet works, good place for a breakfast meeting. Ambiance ok, good for a meeting. Food fresh, especially fruit and juices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    9
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pleasant surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great Pizza's & sandwiches. Food generally very good. Very pleasant surroundings with a nice large waterall in the background & fairly priced. Staff are very friendly & helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel garden restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

When staying at the Country Lodge next door and eating at the Fairview, this is one of the better options. It’s a hotel restaurant, so nothing to write home about. The menu is relatively limited, but with some interesting dishes - most of which are OK but not brilliant. Service is adequate. The outdoor seating is lovely unless the weather turns cold and rainy, in which case you’ll want a wrap. Not worth a special trip, but fine if you are already in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Off Day?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We dine fairly frequently at the Fairview, either at Pango or at Mitende, and have always been perfectly satisfied with the quality of food and the service. Today we stopped by for lunch and were very disappointed. We ordered a vegetarian tofu dish which, for its simplicity, was extremely overpriced at 1050/- (Zen Garden charges around 800/- for their equivalent which is infinitely better in quality), and some "sushi". The rice in the sushi was not fresh at all and the fish was off-colour and warm, so we left it. We followed up with a capuccino which was, to be perfectly blunt, disgusting and about which we complained to the totally uninterested waitress. Another coffee was offered but declined, but we were still charged for it on the bill. When we questioned the waitress, Jahmellah, about this, we were met with the usual Kenyan blank stare and no response, and no offer to remove the item from the bill. We were also pretty disgusted to note that the same waitress delivered a hefty kick to a cat that was sitting under a nearby table, bothering nobody. Disgusting behaviour. Mr Szlapak needs to get his staff in order, both in regard to customer service and treatment of any animals on the property. If Jahmellah were on my payroll, she would have been fired. A total contrast to the staff at Thai Chi, at the Sarova Stanley, who can't do enough for customers and who are kind and polite - take note, Fairview.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A very nice, quiet place for business meals and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Mukutan Garden Cafe is on the premises of Nairobi's best hotel, the Fairview Park. It's beautifully landscaped, charmingly set in the open air, and the right size for an intimate feel that also offers privacy and breathing room. The menu is somewhat limited, and food is inconsistently prepared, but it's a great place for daytime or evening business meetings and is ideally located within Nairobi. Very recommended and very sophisticated!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mukutan Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mukutan Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mukutan Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.