We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No No No” 1 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Westlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Westlands to your Saves list
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
Westlands Road | PO Box 66969, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No No No”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed three nights in this hotel and was happy when i could check out.

Lets starts with the positives:
- Location
- free WIFI

Now the negatives:
- No reservation upon arrival despite having a reservation confirmation
- Key card machine broken, always needed someone to escort you to the room, which caused a lot of waiting and nerves
- Reception staff was not caring at all, not happy to be of service and relly not motivated
- Bathroom was not cleaned at all, toilet was running, bathrooms looks dirty and make you feel not to spend a minute in there
- Bedroom was of old interior, poor cleaning (dirty bedsheets, sugar in table) and week maintainance
- Did not feel safe to leave something in the save. The save was fixed with two tiny screws and could be carried away without a problem
- Breakfast very basic, outside, not work spoilingh the start of your day with that
- Very loud all the time, in the room you hear 24/7 at least one of the following: construction nioce, your neighbors, people on the corridor, staff dropping things, staff shouting and arguing, street noice, terrible, no way to sleep at all
- Poor security. Reception staff will issue u a key to any room. No safety measures in place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Westlands, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Sven A.

Thank you for taking time to review our facility and services.

We are glad you found our location ideal and the FREE WIFI effective.

We acknowledge the challenges you encountered with our reservation and the room Automated Key card. We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience. We also would like to assure you that, it was unfortunate and one of a kind situation which came up due to the process the IT Department was carrying out of upgrading the softwares and at that particular period, the room key encoder was temporary disabled, making it difficult for the Front Desk to encode the keys as usual. However, so far this challenge has been addressed and we are now utilising a higher version of operating software.

We do understand your concern about our reception staff attitude housekeeping hygine as well as security concern So far, the particular staff has been guided and our in house training programmes given a priority to ensure right staff attitude. We would like to assure you our security measures are approved and we have an impressive record on client, their property and staff safety. However, your concerns are highly appreciated and the security firm has been request to carry a thorough audit to ensure all details are reconfirmed.

I would like to let you know that management as well is very concern about the the room cleanliness status as you expressed. We have invested HEAVILY on hygiene and more so on sanitation and such a situation is of utmost concern. The assurance is that supervision as been improved and after we get the fact exactly what might have been the cause of this kind of a situation, appropriate action will be take.

We definate would be glad to host you next time you visit Kenya. Your review has assisted the management in several ways and we sincerely thank you so much. MANAGEMENT

As a result of the staff restaurant renovation, we had moved our staff at a location next to the rooms, this might have caused the noise discomfort you may have experienced from the said construction and staff talking and moving things. So far this has been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
6
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I did not stay there for the three day conference but used their facilities for a group of more than 20 people. The design of the conference rooms opposite the main hotel needs some re-thinking. The windows in the room we used were so high that there was little natural light, this was the same in the dining area. The food was average and we had the same fruit salad dessert on the two days I ate lunch there. There were at least three other conferences going on so some ate in the conference room due to overcrowding. Our conference room was next to the dining room and so during sessions we could hear all the noises from next door as they laid out meals and there was a door which allowed staff to pass through the back of the conference room into another which appeared to be a storeroom.

The toilets are external to the conference facility and it was raining. The rain also impeded the smooth checking on security at the entrance since there was a table outside for conference registration and to get one's badge. The conference complex seems to have been an afterthought, which is a pity since a lot of rooms have been packed into a limited space. More thought could have been put into the overall planning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was my third stay in this hotel and I was quite confident about the services and rooms as I stayed here earlier. The service quality was much much better and staff used to be very curtious. However, I was disappointed because of following reasons:
1. Rooms: The rooms started looking older and though they were re painted, it looked that the repair was not upto the mark and I was not very happy.
2. Airconditioning: I stayed there for 4 nights and none of the days airconditioning worked. On day 1 after enquiring at the front desk, we were informed that AC was not working and would work next day, I kept getting this promise untill last day and it never worked till we checked out of the hotel. They offered me additional discount after debating with the sales manager on the last day to compensate but that was not the whole point.
3. Service: Wake call was forgotten by the reception staff, the bath matts were not changed and room cups were not replaced on 2 days.
4. Price: It seems they are just making price revision every year without looking at the fact that the rooms have started looking little old and service levels are gone down. The prices should be reasonable considering the star rating of the hotel.

Otherwise all previous times, my experience of staying in this hotel was always good. The hotel is centrally located and food quality in the restaurant is awsome. The breakfast menu is very good and still maintained the good quality.

I would certainly go to this hotel again but want to see the changes in my next visit and hope they should keep prices reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel needs some serious upgrading as the rooms were pretty old and gloomy. The lobby is small but nice and the hotel itself feels safe since they do have security outside 24 hrs checking everyone that's coming into the hotel. Breakfast was basic but decent...omelettes made to order and a variety of fruit, small pastries, bread, tea, coffee, and juice. The breakfast is served in the outdoor restaurant which was a nice area. Aside from having breakfast, we did eat at the restaurant one night for dinner and though the indoor restaurant needs a facelift as well, the food was good. The staff (bellboys and hotel driver) were very nice and helpful but the girls at the front desk were not very helpful. One evening we asked for a recommendation to a good restaurant and though I understand it's her job, but the only place she recommended was the hotel restaurant and she claimed to have no knowledge of any other restaurants. We also asked for directions/shopping suggestions and the girls were not very helpful with that either so ask the guys any questions you may have instead of the girls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I got the experience of stay in this hotel from September 29 - October 3, 2012. It is a good hotel of medium prices range located in Westland - having good rooms with nice open garden loung. The location is ideal near to best shopping malls and cafes. The food was good. The only problem in this hotel was found does not serve alcohlic drinks due to their own reasons. I recommend this for long business stays.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good - but preference should be given to the other side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March. I got a room that was not facing the road and which unfortunately was above their kitchen. It was most noisy and kept me up till late. The air-conditioning would not work and after battling with the reception staff managed to move for the last night to a room opposite to the my room which was quieter. Would recommend the road facing rooms. Laundry service is poor with the hotel taking 2 days to return your items unless you pay double charges.

The rooms are reasonably sized with with decent internet access but through cable so if you use a device than uses only wireless you need to go to the lobby. There is a small gym with a treadmill and some weights. The rooms were clean with limited fittings.

The food is good and the complementary breakfast does cater to South Indian tastes if one is into that kind of food but the service could be better However they do not have a bar. On the whole for the price one pays it could be considered as a possible option.

Room Tip: Take a road facing Westlands Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Kenya, we stayed one night in this hotel. From outward appearances, it's a nice, mid-range hotel. But once it gets to be evening, the hotel is filled with bugs. We have symptoms of bed bugs and are now terrified to having brought them back in our luggage. Additionally, the bathroom and linens were very obviously not clean. I would never, ever, stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PrideInn Hotel Westlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Westlands

Address: Westlands Road | PO Box 66969, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxurious 3 star PRIDEINN HOTELS & Conferencing is a perfect answer for those who want a clean comfortable and quite stay within the heart of westlands Nairobi. PRIDEINN has all the features of a modern city hotel with its unique location you are guaranteed to achieve maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Westlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Westlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.