We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Westlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PrideInn Hotel Westlands to your Saves list
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
Westlands Road | PO Box 66969, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed here for the past weekend, we were to stay one more night but moved out early as exhausted.

Problems;
Bedroom incredibly hot and air conditioning poor.

Noisy, noisy, noisy. Woken after midnight by noisy party returning, who shouted and talked along the corridor for over half an hr. And again woken at 6:15am by same group leaving. Back and forth shouting, I came out of my room after 30 mins of noise, 3 different people outside different doors shouting back and forth to each other. I advised them people were sleeping and to be quiet and one of them told me to calm down!!!! I had not raised my voice. Hotel did not give a damn. Staff are sullen. Also kitchens were outside my window and pots and pans clattered late into the night and early morning. Big construction project opposite so noise, noise and more noise and finally to add insult to final insult the morning coffee (after near sleepless night) is Nescafe Instant.


Positives
Dinner night before was good
Bathroom was good

We moved to the Heron, different league. So quiet and while no air conditioning, room is quite cool. There is a fan but I have not needed to use.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
6
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I cannot speak for the PrideInn on Westlands Road, but it's sister hotel on Raphta Road did not live up to the website pics. I can't say that it wasn't clean; it was. But there was a dinginess about the room and the entire grounds that made it appear less than clean. I moved from a front, streetside room that the guards could watch TV through my window, to a much more well-lit and spacious back room. It should've been nice, but it wasn't, and it was nothing really specific, just a overall lowness abounding the place. In the room, there was a disgusting fake animal fur rug in the room that was so used and unsightly that I was literally afraid to step on it. The bedsheets were worn beyond use and the pillows could only be called so because they were rectangular and enclosed in a pillowcase! The staff harassed me constantly for my room key, claiming they needed to get in to clean. Although i told them it was not necessary to clean, and refused to give my room key, I'd return to the room, and they would have cleaned. Obviously, you have another key! And they were so persistent that it caused me to check thoroughly every day to make sure nothing was missing; and to actually carry with me, things that I otherwise would have left in the room. It was actually a feat, accomplished only by loads of alcohol, that I was able to sleep at all due to nightmarish images that kept popping into my head. Therefore, I have to agree with the reviewer who likened it to a horror movie!
I agree with another reviewer about the Manager. The "check-in" room obviously doubles as the office for him and some of his colleagues, and he acts totally put out that one would dare interrupt his "work" to check into the hotel. He was so distant as to actually be rude! And when I saw him around the place, he acted as if he was some demi-god, way beyond speaking to a peon such as myself!
I think the fact that it was used as a residence by some of the guests contributed greatly to its unappealability. Seeing shoes and rugs and prayer mats and laundry outside the rooms in the common walkways was a bit offputting. The concept of living in a hotel is OK. However, one always imagines that the hotel denizens will be more the Oprah in the Ritz sort than the sort that would be otherwise living in a trailer park!
On the plus side, the rooms were quite large, the internet was quite fast, and the immediate hot water in the bathroom was quite welcome. Although the breakfast was horrendously skippable, I ate in the restaurant only one time, but, despite the gloomy atmosphere, found the food quite nice and affordable.
On the BIG plus side, the location was outstanding!!!! Easy zipping here and there, and since was so close to Sarit Center (mall), getting a cab was quick and easy.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, take a room in back. It's near where the "permanent" residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful, I'm currently there and the room Im paying ksh7000 ($85) for is basically a one bedroom house with breakfast. Free wifi, pool, the whole package. Will keep u guys posted

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This dingy little motel is not the PrideInn we thought we were being booked into....rather it was a 'sister' hotel of theirs. Our flight back from Malindi was delayed and we checked into the hotel (and I use that word loosely) quite late - other than taking copies of our passport the night manager was rather rude to us. We were shown to our room which was unspeakably shabby - I can safely say the furniture was purchased in the 70's. The room itself was clean, however the bed which was rock hard (and I mean ROCK HARD) had only a sheet with a hole over it to cover the mattress, two pillows and a dodgy blanket. We were originally only supplied with one towel and fortunately the night porter who was hanging around our room looking for a tip got us another one - I'd rather not get into just how bad the bathroom was. We would have left but it was after midnight and we had to be at the airport by 05h00 the next morning. On check out, the early breakfast we had arranged - and had to pay for was no where to be seen, we were also charged a $150 instead of the $117 that they had told us in an early email - again we were fortunate enough to have another "charming" duty manager. STAY AWAY from the place - there are much better places to stay in Nairobi and we will NOT be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel, which has less stars than some of the other hotels we were looking to book into, but were all full. The staff were very attentative, the food excelent (especially if you like Indian cooking), the wi-fi free, TV channels in room OK. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, with safe, tea/coffee, bottled water, internet by cable (free), desk, and a comfortable bed. Bathroom is basic, but with all facilities needed. They supply airport transfers on request. I will book there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

the bad points
- no apparent lift
- breakfast basic and cold
- phone only take incoming calls (in the whole hotel even reception!)
- stone floors that are very noisy
- lots of hotel water but poor thermostats
-bizarrely my sink plug vanished after 1 day
- mobile reception is poor

good
- indian restaurant downstairs was excellent
- good wireless in restaurant
- internet in room
- feee internet

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PrideInn Hotel Westlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Westlands

Address: Westlands Road | PO Box 66969, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxurious 3 star PRIDEINN HOTELS & Conferencing is a perfect answer for those who want a clean comfortable and quite stay within the heart of westlands Nairobi. PRIDEINN has all the features of a modern city hotel with its unique location you are guaranteed to achieve maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Westlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Westlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.