We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road to your Saves list
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at this property from the 30th September and I must really say I got more than my money's worth. The property has been well looked after, the rooms are good and wel appointed, the food is very good too. The ambience is very good and I was pleasantly surprised that my room was quiet in the evenings. This is usually not the case whenever I go for Conferences in Nairobi. The General Manager too was very professional. He met me during one of the breakfasts, introduced himself and offered to be of service. There was really nothing much to ask for except my laundry that had not been picked up. When I went back to my room in the evening, I found my suit laundered and whats best, all compliments of the General Manager...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronalds642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for this ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the place to be. I stayed in pride Inn for one week and i cant estate to recommend this incredible property to both the international and local clientele. I have a personal rating system differentiated on items, so I would give a 5 stars for the rooms, 5 stars for the food and 5 star for the service. The entire property was spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and always gave service beyond my expectation.
I managed to talk to the Hotel Manager Hillary Siele and i could describe him as one person with high standards of professional ethics and one who has put the interest of the client ahead of his own.
PrideInn Raphta Suites Hotel & Conferencing is my second home and i promise to be back with my family and friends. keep up the spirit and maintain the standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
we very much appreciate your positive comments....we look forward to hosting you again soon! Regards...Siele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just stayed in the new wing of the hotel and its incredible . The staff are amazing and pay attention to all the details .Food is amazing and ooh what more cam i say -Try it for yourself and you will keep asking for more ..The Manager Hillary Siele is one with high professional skills .He beats them all with how well he is running the place .Thanks to all your team which you have managed to make to mould to such great personnels in this travel industry .

Going back again in December ;;; cant wait .

Room Tip: Always request for the rooms on the new wing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking time to review our property and we shall endeavor our very best to keep our service even better..sincere regards, Siele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would not hesitate to refer this unique property to any international guest who might need to enjoy the highest standards of the hospitality sector.This is because it has all it takes to offer the best service in terms of facilities.
Its worth noting that the Manager- Mr. Siele Hillary, is very professional and and his team treated us like kings and queens and i was with my fiancé and we felt we could not leave the facility due to the convivial service and they spoiled us with the highest degree of hospitality.
My fiancé and I miss the good old friends and their high quality/sophisticated facilities and quality service still ringer in our minds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77seth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
we very much appreciate your positive comments....we look forward to hosting you again soon! Regards...Siele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived the first night. I felt so bad. He showed us the room. It didnt have AC. I was really angry. But then later I realized we didn't need AC. I misbehaved a little but the staff were very patient. They were very polite. Nice restaurant. They have great indian food. The rooms were good. Very clean except for the suite. Very close to the bars in the Westland. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
we very much appreciate your positive comments....we look forward to hosting you again soon! Regards...Siele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Raphta Road suites (B & B only) for 6 days in total (first for 2 days and then for 4 days). When we arrived, only one of our 2 rooms was ready. It was a largish room with a living area and a small kitchen. We weren't given any fresh towels or bottled water - so had to ask for these. Also the shower didn't work properly so there was no heated water. And there was no hot water in the sink either - when we complained to reception, they said that they didn't have a boiler!!!!! Anyway, they came to fix the shower and we got lukewarm water.

The internet connection was crap too. Wireless signal was not very good. At one pointm the WiFi connection wasn't available for 2 days. The hotel blamed the service provider and it was eventually fixed - wasn't good for people who had come for business conferences!

Foodwise - very basic, limited choice. It was buffet style. However, they did make you a fresh omelette should you wish to have one. If you decide to eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner, then their prices are reasonable.

After 2 days we left to go on our safari and returned back to PrideInn and things were not much better. We were promised two rooms next to each other, but were given the same rooms we had previously. The first night back, there was a power cut. The generators failed to come on, but luckily we had packed torches - there weren't even any candles in the rooms!#

Again, rooms were cleaned daily, but fresh towels were not refreshed. We had to ask at reception for more. One excuse was that the laundry van hadn't arrived on time!! Surely they should have a spare supply.

Also, all these complaints - the managers don't relay these back to owners of the hotel. Luckily for us, the owner was on site, and he didn't know about these issues and he said he would get them resolved. We said that all these problems that we suffered, we'd need some form of compensation because you expect basic amenities - they wouldn't reduce the amount we had to pay, but they did give us a complimentary dinner which was nice of them.

Location-wise, it's ok... about 30 mins walk into central Westlands.

Overall, if I had the choice, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Mr. Dazkool,

Thanks for taking time to review our services. We however apologize for all the inconveniences caused. It is our standard to have room ready with all the supplies before we sell. We do acknowledge that there was a delay from our outsourced laundry services provider due to general problem of power in town that also affected the water supply. This caused delays in major service around town and we had to use the entire linen stock that was available hence the slight hiccup experienced. This explains the unusual power black out.

We also apologize for the internet connectivity as well. As you mentioned, for 3 days we had a quite a big challenge with connectivity assumably due to fresh cable installation that was going on in Westlands at that particular time.

However, so far we have established a laundry section with one of our 6 outlets, and for the Internet, we are on the two major service providers in Kenya .. Access Kenya and Wananchi. This means, when one is down, we can still access Internet through the other.

Our generator has adequate output and capacity. Unfortunately, that evening the Autoswitch temporarily jammed and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience.

We got a new group chef and as you mentioned, we have discussed the menu options and so far the issue of variety in the menu will not arise in near future. At the moment, we boost for the best and largest multi-cuisine kitchen around handling Chinese, Indian, Barbeque and Continental under Royal Kitchen Multi-Cuisine.

We do appreciate your remarks on the the menu price as well as the omellet. our concept is 3 star facilities offering 5 star services. That explains why our prices seemingly are reasonable.

With all the accommodation and conference facility choices we have around, we still would like to encourage you to stay with us next time and you will confirm the improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Raphta Road property for 2 days first week of December 2012. The rooms are very run down but massive bed room and living room.. comfortable bed.. The instant water heater works but the shower was haywire.. the food is average.. the service was pretty good.. Wifi was weak in the room but fast in the restaurant and reception. More importantly its well located if you are going to be around Westlands or the city. the staff and the reception was very helpful and I think a lot of their rooms are under renovation and hence will be good to stay once they are ready. Was booked under a corporate rate and hence was affordable. Would definitely stay there provided i pay the corporate rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Arenski,

Thank you very much for the informative suggestions that you have given to our Hotel. Management has taken these comments posted here very seriously and We have Hotel has already started the process of renovating the rooms which were in poor shape.
We thank you for the continued support and we ask that you visit our hotel in the future so that you can be able to see the massive improvements and you can rate us once again.

Kind regards,
Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#122 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
#120 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#22 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#55 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#44 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road

Address: Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pristine gardens and lovely flowerbeds, PrideInn Hotel – Raphta offers a haven where business and pleasure seamlessly blend. The hotel is aptly located on Raphta Road in the heart of Nairobi’s upscale Westlands district and offers exquisite facilities and services tailor-made to suit today’s travelers. DISTANCE -Distance: 0.5kms from Nairobi’s business district -18kms from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport -3kms from Nairobi Railway Station CLIMATE -Warm days: Average 24° C -Cooler nights: Average 12° C -Cold months: June – July -Long rains: March – June -Short rains: October – December ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing