We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okayish stay.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites

Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 38343, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An okayish stay.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Raphta Road suites (B & B only) for 6 days in total (first for 2 days and then for 4 days). When we arrived, only one of our 2 rooms was ready. It was a largish room with a living area and a small kitchen. We weren't given any fresh towels or bottled water - so had to ask for these. Also the shower didn't work properly so there was no heated water. And there was no hot water in the sink either - when we complained to reception, they said that they didn't have a boiler!!!!! Anyway, they came to fix the shower and we got lukewarm water.

The internet connection was crap too. Wireless signal was not very good. At one pointm the WiFi connection wasn't available for 2 days. The hotel blamed the service provider and it was eventually fixed - wasn't good for people who had come for business conferences!

Foodwise - very basic, limited choice. It was buffet style. However, they did make you a fresh omelette should you wish to have one. If you decide to eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner, then their prices are reasonable.

After 2 days we left to go on our safari and returned back to PrideInn and things were not much better. We were promised two rooms next to each other, but were given the same rooms we had previously. The first night back, there was a power cut. The generators failed to come on, but luckily we had packed torches - there weren't even any candles in the rooms!#

Again, rooms were cleaned daily, but fresh towels were not refreshed. We had to ask at reception for more. One excuse was that the laundry van hadn't arrived on time!! Surely they should have a spare supply.

Also, all these complaints - the managers don't relay these back to owners of the hotel. Luckily for us, the owner was on site, and he didn't know about these issues and he said he would get them resolved. We said that all these problems that we suffered, we'd need some form of compensation because you expect basic amenities - they wouldn't reduce the amount we had to pay, but they did give us a complimentary dinner which was nice of them.

Location-wise, it's ok... about 30 mins walk into central Westlands.

Overall, if I had the choice, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Mr. Dazkool,

Thanks for taking time to review our services. We however apologize for all the inconveniences caused. It is our standard to have room ready with all the supplies before we sell. We do acknowledge that there was a delay from our outsourced laundry services provider due to general problem of power in town that also affected the water supply. This caused delays in major service around town and we had to use the entire linen stock that was available hence the slight hiccup experienced. This explains the unusual power black out.

We also apologize for the internet connectivity as well. As you mentioned, for 3 days we had a quite a big challenge with connectivity assumably due to fresh cable installation that was going on in Westlands at that particular time.

However, so far we have established a laundry section with one of our 6 outlets, and for the Internet, we are on the two major service providers in Kenya .. Access Kenya and Wananchi. This means, when one is down, we can still access Internet through the other.

Our generator has adequate output and capacity. Unfortunately, that evening the Autoswitch temporarily jammed and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience.

We got a new group chef and as you mentioned, we have discussed the menu options and so far the issue of variety in the menu will not arise in near future. At the moment, we boost for the best and largest multi-cuisine kitchen around handling Chinese, Indian, Barbeque and Continental under Royal Kitchen Multi-Cuisine.

We do appreciate your remarks on the the menu price as well as the omellet. our concept is 3 star facilities offering 5 star services. That explains why our prices seemingly are reasonable.

With all the accommodation and conference facility choices we have around, we still would like to encourage you to stay with us next time and you will confirm the improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    15
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
24
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at the Raphta Road property for 2 days first week of December 2012. The rooms are very run down but massive bed room and living room.. comfortable bed.. The instant water heater works but the shower was haywire.. the food is average.. the service was pretty good.. Wifi was weak in the room but fast in the restaurant and reception. More importantly its well located if you are going to be around Westlands or the city. the staff and the reception was very helpful and I think a lot of their rooms are under renovation and hence will be good to stay once they are ready. Was booked under a corporate rate and hence was affordable. Would definitely stay there provided i pay the corporate rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Arenski,

Thank you very much for the informative suggestions that you have given to our Hotel. Management has taken these comments posted here very seriously and We have Hotel has already started the process of renovating the rooms which were in poor shape.
We thank you for the continued support and we ask that you visit our hotel in the future so that you can be able to see the massive improvements and you can rate us once again.

Kind regards,
Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I initially wanted to stay six days at PrideInn on Raphta Road but only managed to stay three days before I had to find an alternative. Supposedly I was given their best suite but some things really didn't work out for me. Because I travel for business reliable Internet is very important. The whole three days I was there I couldn't get a proper connection. The wireless connection was simply not good enough to reach the suite. Secondly there was so much noise from the hotel staff around my suite from 6.30am till 11pm. When power would go off a generator located next to my room went off in full effect. For two days the generator was on till 2am in the morning making it impossible to sleep. Lastly the service in the restaurant and at breakfast was so bad that one felt like a bother asking for basic things. At one point I had dinner and the waitress threw the receipt on the table after the main meal. I asked if I could have dessert and the answer was "eh, you want dessert??" I decided not to on that occasion.

Basically it felt like a place made for the staff rather than the guests. I will not go back to the hotel when I return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. Ever since you arrived we made huge improvements. Our internet connection now can be accessed in all our hotel rooms with very strong signal and very fast speeds. During the period you were around we had renovations going on at the hotel and now they are complete. We invite you to visit our hotel once again and note this improvements. We will give you a good discount to cushion you against the service you got during your first stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A good hotel in Nairobi with a smiling staff and good service. They have a restaurant that serves Indian, Chinese and continental dishes. We tried the food and it was ok. However they do not serve any alcohol at the restaurant.

The rooms are ok, and they have some internations channels. Internet is also working. The swimming pool is very small.

Breakfast was very limited and even cold the last days, but the other days we had it in the rooms and it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Anders,

Many thanks for the positive remarks. However we apologize for the cold breakfast during your last days. We invite you to visit our hotel once again as we assure you of top quality service we hope to host you when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not to bad a hotel, you pay for what you get, secure hotel,centrally located ,rooms need refurbished and hotel situated in Indian district in Nairobi

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive reviews. We have made massive improvements in the hotels but we ensure that our prices are still affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Trip Advisor mods, how about separate entries for the Pride Inn Raphta Road and the Pride in Westlands Road? While these are sister properties they are very different.

I stayed ten days at Westands Road. They were actually booked solid for the first two days of my trip and tried to send me to Raphta Road, but the staff in our Nairobi office advised against it and sent me elsewhere.

The Westlands Road property is quite new, the guest rooms are very large and clean with a small fridge, safe and free internet. No wi fi in the guest rooms but they do provide an ethernet cable. Some guests find the tile floors noisy but I will take tile over carpet any day, it doesn't hold dirt and germs. The main problem, which I find in may countries, is that the doors are flimsy and you can hear everyone talking in the hallway. Also at the Pride the door hinges seem to be spring-loaded, and as a result all the doors slam very loudly. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and after only a day or two they all addressed me by name.

The hotel restaurant is OK, breakfast was very good but dinners tended to be very oily. As others have mentioned, the hotel is Indian owned so there is a lot of Indian food ont he menu. Also they recently changed their policy and they no longer serve alcohol, so if you want a drink you'll have to go out.

The hotel is in a great location. Despite what some other posters have said, there are plenty of places within walking distance. There are a lot of restaurants just a few minutes away, I have been to the Westlands neighborhood many times and I am comfortable walking that short distance after dark. There are two malls (Sarit Center and Westgate Mall) that are about a ten minute walk, but after dark I would take a cab.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the second floor away from the small car park. Opposite the car park they have a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear K. Moulus, Thank you so much for opting to stay with Prideinn Hotel. Since then, acouple of things have been improved. Our Raphta Branch is very vibrant and the Westlands Branch also has been given consideration especially on the doors, security measures, menu and kitchen standards. Am sure today, with your honest comments and other reviewers as well, we have managed to achieve quality. We hope next time you are in Kenya you will stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stay in Nairobi on semi regular basis during the past few years and have enjoyed and not enjoyed a wide variety of accomodations from the elegance and history of the Norfolk to the 'economy' of the Embassy. What I was looking for was a safe, quiet, comfortable and affordable place to stay with self catering facilities. The PrideInn Raphta Road, not to be confused with its sister hotel on Weslands Road, proved to be the place.and has been the choice for the past few trips to Nairobi.

On my first visit I was impressed with the size of the bright clean room and the pleasant sitting area with love seat, cofee table and two comfortable chairs. The king size bed was comfortable and with no hesitation the request for additional pillows was honored. The instant hot water in the bathroom was a treat, immediately after the dusty trip from Arusha. The small kitchen with table and seating for two was more than satisfactory and the kitchen with 4 burner stove and oven, decent sized frige and microwave made it possible to prepare a vaiety of tasty dishes in the comfort of our room. There is no hot water in the kitchen tap but a kettle made cleaning up easy. The average Nairobi restaurant has a sameness about it and the high end ones althoug pretty good come with a pretty good bill at thr end of the meal.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. It is a one and two story structure with in a walled compound with hotel askari and askari from a security company working side by side. The well kept and attractive garden area with plunge pool, is monitored by security cameras situated in the office. Although away from the hustle and bustle of Westlands business area, the malls and entertainment it is still only a three hundred shilling taxi ride it one wants to enjoy the shopping, dining and the nightlife of Westlands.

I have found all the staff, from housekeeing bar and restaurant very friendly and eager to help.. On the occasson when things did not work a real effor was made to correct the problem. On the one occassion when the staff could not make an immediate repair an upgrade was offered.

On the occassion we have used the restaurant we have found the menu interesting and the food will prepared. The included breakfast although not great is adequate.

The price of for the studio double of somewhat less than $100.00 US seemed, by Nairobi standards fair and reasonable.

I look forward to more relaxing weekends at PrideInn, Raphta road.

Room Tip: A pool side room or room away from the main gate and reception is good. The action around these area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Zad, Thank you so much for having stayed at Raphta Road Pride inn. We are delighted by you lengthy review which cover the entire services we offer. we are glad we made your stay convenient and that you found the location all that Ideal. I hope next time you visit Nairobi, you will stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites

Address: Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 38343, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prideinn Hotel offers a luxurious haven where business and pleasure seamlessly blend. Located along Raphta road within the heart of WestlandsEasy access to the Central Business District, Westlands Business Area, International organization, Financial Institutions and other offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.