We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites

Save Saved
You added PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 38343, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
belfast
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“stop over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not to bad a hotel, you pay for what you get, secure hotel,centrally located ,rooms need refurbished and hotel situated in Indian district in Nairobi

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugen T, Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive reviews. We have made massive improvements in the hotels but we ensure that our prices are still affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    15
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
26
20
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Trip Advisor mods, how about separate entries for the Pride Inn Raphta Road and the Pride in Westlands Road? While these are sister properties they are very different.

I stayed ten days at Westands Road. They were actually booked solid for the first two days of my trip and tried to send me to Raphta Road, but the staff in our Nairobi office advised against it and sent me elsewhere.

The Westlands Road property is quite new, the guest rooms are very large and clean with a small fridge, safe and free internet. No wi fi in the guest rooms but they do provide an ethernet cable. Some guests find the tile floors noisy but I will take tile over carpet any day, it doesn't hold dirt and germs. The main problem, which I find in may countries, is that the doors are flimsy and you can hear everyone talking in the hallway. Also at the Pride the door hinges seem to be spring-loaded, and as a result all the doors slam very loudly. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and after only a day or two they all addressed me by name.

The hotel restaurant is OK, breakfast was very good but dinners tended to be very oily. As others have mentioned, the hotel is Indian owned so there is a lot of Indian food ont he menu. Also they recently changed their policy and they no longer serve alcohol, so if you want a drink you'll have to go out.

The hotel is in a great location. Despite what some other posters have said, there are plenty of places within walking distance. There are a lot of restaurants just a few minutes away, I have been to the Westlands neighborhood many times and I am comfortable walking that short distance after dark. There are two malls (Sarit Center and Westgate Mall) that are about a ten minute walk, but after dark I would take a cab.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the second floor away from the small car park. Opposite the car park they have a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear K. Moulus, Thank you so much for opting to stay with Prideinn Hotel. Since then, acouple of things have been improved. Our Raphta Branch is very vibrant and the Westlands Branch also has been given consideration especially on the doors, security measures, menu and kitchen standards. Am sure today, with your honest comments and other reviewers as well, we have managed to achieve quality. We hope next time you are in Kenya you will stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I have stay in Nairobi on semi regular basis during the past few years and have enjoyed and not enjoyed a wide variety of accomodations from the elegance and history of the Norfolk to the 'economy' of the Embassy. What I was looking for was a safe, quiet, comfortable and affordable place to stay with self catering facilities. The PrideInn Raphta Road, not to be confused with its sister hotel on Weslands Road, proved to be the place.and has been the choice for the past few trips to Nairobi.

On my first visit I was impressed with the size of the bright clean room and the pleasant sitting area with love seat, cofee table and two comfortable chairs. The king size bed was comfortable and with no hesitation the request for additional pillows was honored. The instant hot water in the bathroom was a treat, immediately after the dusty trip from Arusha. The small kitchen with table and seating for two was more than satisfactory and the kitchen with 4 burner stove and oven, decent sized frige and microwave made it possible to prepare a vaiety of tasty dishes in the comfort of our room. There is no hot water in the kitchen tap but a kettle made cleaning up easy. The average Nairobi restaurant has a sameness about it and the high end ones althoug pretty good come with a pretty good bill at thr end of the meal.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. It is a one and two story structure with in a walled compound with hotel askari and askari from a security company working side by side. The well kept and attractive garden area with plunge pool, is monitored by security cameras situated in the office. Although away from the hustle and bustle of Westlands business area, the malls and entertainment it is still only a three hundred shilling taxi ride it one wants to enjoy the shopping, dining and the nightlife of Westlands.

I have found all the staff, from housekeeing bar and restaurant very friendly and eager to help.. On the occasson when things did not work a real effor was made to correct the problem. On the one occassion when the staff could not make an immediate repair an upgrade was offered.

On the occassion we have used the restaurant we have found the menu interesting and the food will prepared. The included breakfast although not great is adequate.

The price of for the studio double of somewhat less than $100.00 US seemed, by Nairobi standards fair and reasonable.

I look forward to more relaxing weekends at PrideInn, Raphta road.

Room Tip: A pool side room or room away from the main gate and reception is good. The action around these area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Zad, Thank you so much for having stayed at Raphta Road Pride inn. We are delighted by you lengthy review which cover the entire services we offer. we are glad we made your stay convenient and that you found the location all that Ideal. I hope next time you visit Nairobi, you will stay with us. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The restaurant of this indian dominated hotel is excellent. Service of staff is fair, we had to ask three times for replacement of a hot water cooker. But much to my regret I have to state that we had a very bad night. The water system is very noisy, a pump like sound has kept us awake several times during the night.
We have reported this in the morning, but all we heard was that a note would be made for maintenance staff.
I am very sorry to report that this hotel can't get our recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear,Eden Miran, Thank you so much for the review and honest opinion. We regret the uncomfortable night you had with us years back. We are really sorry about that. However, through your comments and other clients, we have managed to get PrideInn among the best places to stay in Nairobi with unbeatable rates. Kindly visit us next time you are in Nairobi to witness the improvement and compensation. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed in a suite with friends, and enjoyed a very comfortable stay. The restaurant is excellent. The staff are very friendly. The rooms had A/C, were clean, and free wireless internet, although they didn't have a room safe.

Located in the Westlands area, the hotel is in a compound. I felt very safe, with the 24 hour guard at the gate. You'll need a car, or to take taxi's everywhere, nothing is in walking distance. The staff were very helpful in arranging cars for us, and taking us around town.

We were only staying in Nairobi two nights while we planned our safari and met up with a friend.

The laundry service was terrible, and very expensive. I don't recommend it.

Overall, this is a great place to stay in Westlands and I would certainly recommend it to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIDEINN_12, General Manager at PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Ottawa Steve. Thank you so much for your review on Prideinn services. We are delighted to note that the last time you visited Kenya in 2011, you were impressed by our services. We hope next time you travel to Nairobi, you will choose to stay with us to experience the improvement. Lawrence Kinyua, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites

Address: Raphta Road | Westlands, Nairobi 38343, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prideinn Hotel offers a luxurious haven where business and pleasure seamlessly blend. Located along Raphta road within the heart of WestlandsEasy access to the Central Business District, Westlands Business Area, International organization, Financial Institutions and other offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.