We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for families to go during the day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park

Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park
Lang'ata Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$47*
and up
Nairobi City Walking Tour with Traditional Kenyan...
Ranked #27 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Okay for families to go during the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice park for families to go during the day. I am not sure how safe it is for Expats but never heard of anyone amongst my friends getting robbed. however would highly recommend that you go there with minimum money in your pocket and dont carry fancy phones or gadgets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangalore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If u get time on busy days for few hrs in nairobi, visit this peaceful park.

On sundays u can also see some street skaters practising and showing their skills.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank VipulNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get the real history of Kenya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Uhuru means freedom in Kiswahili. So visiting the "freedom gardens" takes you back to the colonial days. Rich history but nothing much in the park ,,may be just to relax and cool off.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventspils, Latvia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok but disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We expected a basic urban park, but this is no showcase for the nation, as its name and location imply. A magnet for drunks and homeless, very badly maintained-- my wife insisted on leaving after a quick look around. We enjoyed the bustling family "scene" with lots of happy kids. A good respite from the city if you have nowhere else to go, but surrounded by gleaming buildings that makes you wonder where the city money is spent... not here!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank twisted?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's what u make it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not THE greatest place in Nairobi, but I've been here with some GREAT company & had mad fun!
Try taking a walk to the far corners... ;-)

Helpful?
Thank chala116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing