We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for families to go during the day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park

Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park
Lang'ata Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$43*
and up
Ranked #33 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Okay for families to go during the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice park for families to go during the day. I am not sure how safe it is for Expats but never heard of anyone amongst my friends getting robbed. however would highly recommend that you go there with minimum money in your pocket and dont carry fancy phones or gadgets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    24
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If u get time on busy days for few hrs in nairobi, visit this peaceful park.

On sundays u can also see some street skaters practising and showing their skills.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get the real history of Kenya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Uhuru means freedom in Kiswahili. So visiting the "freedom gardens" takes you back to the colonial days. Rich history but nothing much in the park ,,may be just to relax and cool off.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventspils, Latvia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok but disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We expected a basic urban park, but this is no showcase for the nation, as its name and location imply. A magnet for drunks and homeless, very badly maintained-- my wife insisted on leaving after a quick look around. We enjoyed the bustling family "scene" with lots of happy kids. A good respite from the city if you have nowhere else to go, but surrounded by gleaming buildings that makes you wonder where the city money is spent... not here!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's what u make it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Not THE greatest place in Nairobi, but I've been here with some GREAT company & had mad fun!
Try taking a walk to the far corners... ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uhuru Gardens Memorial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.