We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murumbi gallery is really cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Gallery

Nairobi Gallery
Nairobi SW2 4DN, Kenya
+254 020 216566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Art Galleries
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Murumbi gallery is really cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spent 4 hours at the gallery checking out the artefacts in the Murumbi gallery. The museum guide was quite helpful and informative. There are several rooms in this house that detail Murumbi's life. They have not put the stamps on show but there are many other artefacts that are original. The cloths from around Africa are really beautiful, the model of his living room and his collections are quite interesting. There is a collection of old original books, coins, beads and even tribal weapons. Very interesting gallery.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penvenan, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to get Alan Donovan as our guide because one of his friends was there at that moment. What an interesting man who put everything into context.

The building lends itself to the thematic nature of the collections, including the modern art for sale room which we understood will only ever have the best artists of the moment on a rotating basis.

An hour and a half just flew by and we came away with a much better understanding of just how little old art still exists. I was fascinated by the Venetian glass and it's monetisation.

Don't forget to tell your driver, if you have one, that there is private parking and a separate entrance past the no entry road sign.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful art collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is one place that captivated me.The art collections done by Mr. Murumbi-kenya's 2nd vice president is the biggest art collection by a private individual in Africa!..here you find timeless fabric designs and artwork from all over Africa.The art gallery is situated at 0km meaning that this is where Nairobi began!..a very skilled team of tour guides takes you through a very educative show around the gallery!.don't miss it while you are in Nairobi-and yes,they also partake a city walk sightseeing tour!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Totally Impressed by the art collections i saw while the Nairobi. The Murumbi African Heritage Collections are priceless.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MURUMBI THE GREATEST AFRICAN ART COLLECTOR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For a long time, The Nairobi gallary to was just an old collonial which sound improttant and needs to be conserved after all it is 100 years old. but I realy like what the Murumbu Trust has done to the place; it is not just some old building anymore it is the home of African arts collected by Josheph Murumbi.

For those who value African art, masks, old books and the general history of the continent this is the place to go. A guide is optional but I recomend to take one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Nairobi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.