We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand crafted right in Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hand crafted right in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Did some research for a few stops near Nairobi to see the city and some wildlife and found this amazing gem.

Just a quick drive from the city, this amazing place houses a unique tourist and shopping experience. My friend and I were able to tour the bead factory with a guide. Seeing the mud, the hand rolling of various sized beads, all done by local men and women to truly support their community (how can you not love that!), then to see the beads be hand painted and then strung.

Shopping was great! Tons of beads, necklaces, bracelets, earrings and figurines. If you want- my friend asked to choose her beads personally and bring them home to make necklaces for her friends (what a cute party idea for close friends, cool craft and take home souvenir!)

Would I go back? Yes, I would gladly go back and support this great organization. Plus I found their products in other shops around Kenya but I would much rather go see the women and men who work on these amazing crafts themselves.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    73
    22
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What A Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is an absolute gem in Nairobi. The product made by the locals in this facility is both beautiful and amazing. Our guide walked us through the entire process of how the beads and pottery are made. Definitely a must see for anyone visiting Nairobi.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really enjoyed this visit. The bead factory was begun in 1975 to provide work for single moms. I spoke with a woman who has worked there 30 years. They work 5 and 1/2 days per week get a fair wage and health insurance. They all get trained at the different stations, making beads, painting beads, firing beads, putting together jewelry, the gift shop so they don't get too bored. I kind of felt bad for the women because they are on display with all these strangers wandering through taking their pictures but I guess it helps pay the bills. It seems like a really awesome program that employs lots of women (and some men). Definitely worth the trip. I also bought some awesome jewelry at really reasonable prices.

http://familyafricansafari.blogspot.com/

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannnapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was fascinating to see the process of making these beads from their initial raw state of muddy clay to spectacular beads and finally uniquely beautiful pieces of jewelry and china!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An important project ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is definitely worth a visit - the Kazuri project helps about 340 women (most are single parents) take care of themselves and their children, financially speaking. In addition to that, this factory makes amazing works and has a great shop in which most of their beautiful products can be bought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.