We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours, Shopping
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really enjoyed this visit. The bead factory was begun in 1975 to provide work for single moms. I spoke with a woman who has worked there 30 years. They work 5 and 1/2 days per week get a fair wage and health insurance. They all get trained at the different stations, making beads, painting beads, firing beads, putting together jewelry, the gift shop so they don't get too bored. I kind of felt bad for the women because they are on display with all these strangers wandering through taking their pictures but I guess it helps pay the bills. It seems like a really awesome program that employs lots of women (and some men). Definitely worth the trip. I also bought some awesome jewelry at really reasonable prices.

http://familyafricansafari.blogspot.com/

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    77
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kannnapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was fascinating to see the process of making these beads from their initial raw state of muddy clay to spectacular beads and finally uniquely beautiful pieces of jewelry and china!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An important project ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is definitely worth a visit - the Kazuri project helps about 340 women (most are single parents) take care of themselves and their children, financially speaking. In addition to that, this factory makes amazing works and has a great shop in which most of their beautiful products can be bought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A shopping highlight in Nairobi and a great place to buy gifts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited the Kazuri factory on an organised tour. What a trip! We received information on the origins of the factory and were given a tour of several buildings that showed the bead making process from start to finish. It was great to talk to the local artists and watch them at work - and even have a go at putting holes in some of the beads! The shop located on the premises was a jewellery shoppers dream! There are hundreds of necklace and earring designs to choose from and the hand-made brightly coloured designs are beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fabulous place! My sister and I recently visited and certainly supported the local economy! The tour was fun and informative. By the time you get to the shop, you want to support all these single parents working there. Kudos to Kazuri Beads for how they are supporting the people of Kenya.

You are spoiled for choice with the beads.... and we should have had someone hold onto our wallet so we didn't spend so much... lol!

The beads are great quality and so colorful. I ended up buying a lot and using them for gifts... a good present that doesn't take up much room. And every time I wear them here, I get compliments galore! There are also a few other things... some hand made little pottery animals and some wonderful plates, etc. Too bad I didn't have room to bring any of the dishes back!

Definitely worth the trip.... a must see in my book!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.