We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 184 Sightseeing Tours in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I really enjoyed this visit. The bead factory was begun in 1975 to provide work for single moms. I spoke with a woman who has worked there 30 years. They work 5 and 1/2 days per week get a fair wage and health insurance. They all get trained at the different stations, making beads, painting beads, firing beads, putting together jewelry, the gift shop so they don't get too bored. I kind of felt bad for the women because they are on display with all these strangers wandering through taking their pictures but I guess it helps pay the bills. It seems like a really awesome program that employs lots of women (and some men). Definitely worth the trip. I also bought some awesome jewelry at really reasonable prices.

http://familyafricansafari.blogspot.com/

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    81
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kannnapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was fascinating to see the process of making these beads from their initial raw state of muddy clay to spectacular beads and finally uniquely beautiful pieces of jewelry and china!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An important project ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is definitely worth a visit - the Kazuri project helps about 340 women (most are single parents) take care of themselves and their children, financially speaking. In addition to that, this factory makes amazing works and has a great shop in which most of their beautiful products can be bought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A shopping highlight in Nairobi and a great place to buy gifts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited the Kazuri factory on an organised tour. What a trip! We received information on the origins of the factory and were given a tour of several buildings that showed the bead making process from start to finish. It was great to talk to the local artists and watch them at work - and even have a go at putting holes in some of the beads! The shop located on the premises was a jewellery shoppers dream! There are hundreds of necklace and earring designs to choose from and the hand-made brightly coloured designs are beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fabulous place! My sister and I recently visited and certainly supported the local economy! The tour was fun and informative. By the time you get to the shop, you want to support all these single parents working there. Kudos to Kazuri Beads for how they are supporting the people of Kenya.

You are spoiled for choice with the beads.... and we should have had someone hold onto our wallet so we didn't spend so much... lol!

The beads are great quality and so colorful. I ended up buying a lot and using them for gifts... a good present that doesn't take up much room. And every time I wear them here, I get compliments galore! There are also a few other things... some hand made little pottery animals and some wonderful plates, etc. Too bad I didn't have room to bring any of the dishes back!

Definitely worth the trip.... a must see in my book!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.