We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shopping highlight in Nairobi and a great place to buy gifts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A shopping highlight in Nairobi and a great place to buy gifts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited the Kazuri factory on an organised tour. What a trip! We received information on the origins of the factory and were given a tour of several buildings that showed the bead making process from start to finish. It was great to talk to the local artists and watch them at work - and even have a go at putting holes in some of the beads! The shop located on the premises was a jewellery shoppers dream! There are hundreds of necklace and earring designs to choose from and the hand-made brightly coloured designs are beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    73
    22
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fabulous place! My sister and I recently visited and certainly supported the local economy! The tour was fun and informative. By the time you get to the shop, you want to support all these single parents working there. Kudos to Kazuri Beads for how they are supporting the people of Kenya.

You are spoiled for choice with the beads.... and we should have had someone hold onto our wallet so we didn't spend so much... lol!

The beads are great quality and so colorful. I ended up buying a lot and using them for gifts... a good present that doesn't take up much room. And every time I wear them here, I get compliments galore! There are also a few other things... some hand made little pottery animals and some wonderful plates, etc. Too bad I didn't have room to bring any of the dishes back!

Definitely worth the trip.... a must see in my book!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Take you time to tour the factory to see how these beads are all hand made and the colours are amazing after they are fired. This business was sent up to give single mother employment and you can now find these beads all around the world.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Place to Get Gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We toured this factory and saw the quality of the hand made beads and what went into making them. They are amazing and the women who work here are very talented at making uniform size and shaped beads and glazing them with different colors and patterns. The finished beads are beautiful. I figured when we were done that maybe I would be able to get some earrings -- but then I was pleasantly surprised by the affordability of the finished products! The tour was very interesting and enjoyable, and then the shopping was really fun with very many affordable bead and pottery items to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rainbow Connection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you want to pick out the very best souvenirs for the women in your life, head over to the Kazuri Bead factory. You will receive a wonderful tour of their factory, and are even able to watch the ladies creating their clay beads. It is a rainbow of gorgeous beads to suit anyone's fancy. Next door is a gift shop where you can look to your hearts content, and then purchase. The price is extremely reasonable, and you will have a one-of-a-kind hand crafted work of art.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.