We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a fabulous place! My sister and I recently visited and certainly supported the local economy! The tour was fun and informative. By the time you get to the shop, you want to support all these single parents working there. Kudos to Kazuri Beads for how they are supporting the people of Kenya.

You are spoiled for choice with the beads.... and we should have had someone hold onto our wallet so we didn't spend so much... lol!

The beads are great quality and so colorful. I ended up buying a lot and using them for gifts... a good present that doesn't take up much room. And every time I wear them here, I get compliments galore! There are also a few other things... some hand made little pottery animals and some wonderful plates, etc. Too bad I didn't have room to bring any of the dishes back!

Definitely worth the trip.... a must see in my book!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    84
    24
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Take you time to tour the factory to see how these beads are all hand made and the colours are amazing after they are fired. This business was sent up to give single mother employment and you can now find these beads all around the world.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Place to Get Gifts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We toured this factory and saw the quality of the hand made beads and what went into making them. They are amazing and the women who work here are very talented at making uniform size and shaped beads and glazing them with different colors and patterns. The finished beads are beautiful. I figured when we were done that maybe I would be able to get some earrings -- but then I was pleasantly surprised by the affordability of the finished products! The tour was very interesting and enjoyable, and then the shopping was really fun with very many affordable bead and pottery items to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainbow Connection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you want to pick out the very best souvenirs for the women in your life, head over to the Kazuri Bead factory. You will receive a wonderful tour of their factory, and are even able to watch the ladies creating their clay beads. It is a rainbow of gorgeous beads to suit anyone's fancy. Next door is a gift shop where you can look to your hearts content, and then purchase. The price is extremely reasonable, and you will have a one-of-a-kind hand crafted work of art.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The marvelous Kazuri Bead Factory of Karen, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is marvelous place where women are working to make ceramic jewels and pottery. I admire their passion of hard work to produce beautiful beads. If your travel tour is including Karen attractions, this place must be one of the visits you should make. You can buy souvenirs and gifts from the place as the beads are unique and from the place where they are made.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.