We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour, with gouging prices for products” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Nairobi, Kenya
1-800-941-2759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, with gouging prices for products”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A visit to Kazuri Beads is quite interesting, watching the women work to make the products, and then seeing the process they go through to put the jewelry and other artifacts through to completion was nicely organized for a tour. Their mission seems to be really great too. Upon completion of the tour, you are directed to the gift shop, where you will pay a hefty sum for these products. While it's nice to support the local economy, it was surprising how high the prices were for these products.

Instead of visiting Kazuri, I'd make a trip to Kitengela glass studio instead. It's a funny little place with very interesting things scattered throughout several acres of land, in the middle of no-where, and with great prices for pieces. While it's not ceramic, it's a fun place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    70
    22
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than just a factory--A place of survival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I have visited Kazuri Beads numerous times, while we lived there and many times since, when we go back to visit. We take friends from the US with us, and they, without exception are "blown away" with what is being accomplished there. It is a workplace for women in need of employment because of their situations in life, and gives hope for them and their families--a means of survival. And for the women, it is a place where they not only work, but where they proudly create the most beautiful beads in the world. It is truly a place where visitors are not only educated but inspired as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beads to blessings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Kazuri Beads is a classic African endeavour - the creativity and craftsmanship inherent in local people has been married to technology and marketing expertise - it is all about ceramic beads (and some ceramic crockery too!). The organization has shops in most of the big malls. But a visit to their manufacturing facility is a better idea.The staff are very friendly. If it interests you, they take you on a tour of their workshop, explain the different steps involved in making the beads, answer any number of questions patiently and set you free to shop!

You can buy ready made jewellery. In every colour of the rainbow.

For crafting enthusiasts and jewellery makers, this is a better place to shop. There is a room full of beads that you can feast your eyes on and get your hands into! A great way to spend a couple of hours!

In any case, know that for every shilling, dollar, pound or euro spent you are helping support the employees - mostly single mothers in desperate need. And they will bless you for your generosity.

For those who are just "accompanying" their bead crazy friends / family, sit under the trees and enjoy a cup of coffee! Appreciate the garden art. Listen to the birds singing in the garden!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very educational and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When I brought my group to see the factory, they were tired and it was in the afternoon after a ten day active trip. They were ready to hit a bed somewhere, but once we were in the factory, they perked up and became very interested in the tour. We watched all the stages of making custom beads and stringing them for jewelry. Some women were hand-rolling the shape of the beads, others were painting them, others firing them in the kiln, and then some stringing them. It was a fun and educational time for all of us. we buy a lot of stuff in the states, but never see how it is made. this was that opportunity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit and wonderful souvenirs of our time in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Such a wonderful place to visit. Our driver took our group to visit the factory on our way to the airport. We had spent over a week in Wamba building bricks for a friend and it was so refreshing to be able to support all of the single mothers who work at this factory. The beads and jewelry were so beautiful and all of may family and friends in the U.S. love their bracelets!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kazuri Beads Factory to your Saves list