We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very educational and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very educational and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When I brought my group to see the factory, they were tired and it was in the afternoon after a ten day active trip. They were ready to hit a bed somewhere, but once we were in the factory, they perked up and became very interested in the tour. We watched all the stages of making custom beads and stringing them for jewelry. Some women were hand-rolling the shape of the beads, others were painting them, others firing them in the kiln, and then some stringing them. It was a fun and educational time for all of us. we buy a lot of stuff in the states, but never see how it is made. this was that opportunity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    84
    24
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit and wonderful souvenirs of our time in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Such a wonderful place to visit. Our driver took our group to visit the factory on our way to the airport. We had spent over a week in Wamba building bricks for a friend and it was so refreshing to be able to support all of the single mothers who work at this factory. The beads and jewelry were so beautiful and all of may family and friends in the U.S. love their bracelets!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stop in Nairobi and a Perfect Souvenir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here on our day in Nairobi with my daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it. Take the tour, by all means. It was very inspiring learning about the mission at Kazuri, and how they've been able to successfully and gainfully employ over 300 people in a challenge economic environment, many of them single mothers.

The jewelry I took home from here was not only beautiful handmade, but contributed to the economic vitality of the region and I will cherish it for many years to come.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a place to discover in Kenya if you like beads. Just amazing the way they do it. Only sad point they don't sell by set you have to match the necklace with the ear rings and some time it is quite dificult to find axcat match.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely beads and an interesting tour. Stop by & then go to Karen Blixen Coffee Plantation for lunch after - they are close to one another!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.