We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kazuri shop in Junction Mall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Nairobi, Kenya
1-800-941-2759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Kazuri shop in Junction Mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I did not visit thr farm but I entered in the Kazuri shop in Junction Mall.
Some of the beads are really nice, but the shop is not so attractive. Lights are wrong, necklaces are not valorized enough, seems too packed with stuff.
Is a normal place for average turists, with prices from 1.400 to 2.500 Kenian Shillins for a necklace (18/32 USD). Good place to buy a souvenir but nothing special. I saw places like that in so many counties...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    70
    22
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful beads that help to empower single mothers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had first seen Kazuri beads almost 20 years ago and wanted to have a chance to see them made and learn more about the program. I was traveling for business and had very limited time to visit so I missed the official tour of the factory, but a young woman gave me an unofficial tour after I had completed my shopping. The beads are really beautiful and make a wonderful gift if you can bear to part with them.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“self staining trade for single mothers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This tour of the factory was amazing. We were able to see how the variety of beads are made from beginning to end and the history and evolution of this place. Creating Self sustainable ways for marginalized women to earn a fair living ARE the ways in which we can all help !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Nairobi and in Karen for another reason, this is a nice place to stop by. Honestly, I would not make this a destination in itself. The factory is very interesting, and the workmanship is beautiful. But, it has the feel of a place that is definitely set up for tourists - an aspect that takes away from the authenticity of its story. However, if beads are your thing, and business-development projects interest you, then visit.

Perhaps what I appreciated most was the gift shop, as there are a ton of different things to buy - special gifts for others. Prices are NOT cheap. But, if you pick up a few small things, you'll still have money for the taxi ride home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Take the tour, then visit the shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed learning about the bead making process and seeing it in action from mixing the clay to firing the beads to painting. It was also great to see how they improve the lives of the women who work with them. I spent a little too much at the shop (the necklaces add up quickly - but they do make great gifts).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kazuri Beads Factory to your Saves list