We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Nairobi and in Karen for another reason, this is a nice place to stop by. Honestly, I would not make this a destination in itself. The factory is very interesting, and the workmanship is beautiful. But, it has the feel of a place that is definitely set up for tourists - an aspect that takes away from the authenticity of its story. However, if beads are your thing, and business-development projects interest you, then visit.

Perhaps what I appreciated most was the gift shop, as there are a ton of different things to buy - special gifts for others. Prices are NOT cheap. But, if you pick up a few small things, you'll still have money for the taxi ride home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    74
    23
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Take the tour, then visit the shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed learning about the bead making process and seeing it in action from mixing the clay to firing the beads to painting. It was also great to see how they improve the lives of the women who work with them. I spent a little too much at the shop (the necklaces add up quickly - but they do make great gifts).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK if you have time in Nairobi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not very impressive. Unfortunately, we went there on a Saturday evening when the factory was closed. One of the employees explained, but the focus was more on sales.
The beads are available in many shopping malls.
OK for a visit if you have time in Nairobi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to support the community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The bead work is amazing. Good price and at the same time supporting the community. This is a place not to miss in any Nairobi City Tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent organisation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Firstly, I didn't visit the factory, although I wished I did!

However, we did buy quite a few items from the kazuri shop at Westlands Mall, so I wanted to write a review here.

As many others have mentioned, kazuri gives jobs to destitute, mainly single mothers, whom with their wages, often support an extended family of 20. They also give free medical care to immediate family. Put simply, if you buy their Jewellrey, or other pottery items, you are feeding and giving healthcare to, families.

The designs are wry wide ranging and absolutely beautiful! From small beaded necklaces to statement pieces you will surely find something to your taste. We particularly liked the bracelets, they are memory wired, and long enough to wrap around your wrist 2 1/2 times. Colours ooze the landscape of Africa with browns, honey, yellows, oranges, reds to colours like blues, greens.

I got a lovely ivory shale shaped necklace, a choker with brown round beads and a triangle in middle with giraffe pattern, a honey bracelet and some lovely blue and red bracelets as presents

Please consider going here, and purchasing, you are really helping families, you know the money spent is given directly to the ladies in wages, some of our aid to Africa isn't so lucky, and doesn't always end up for the people in need.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.