We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the tour, then visit the shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Beads Factory

Kazuri Beads Factory
Mbagathi Ridge, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
20 2328905
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Take the tour, then visit the shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed learning about the bead making process and seeing it in action from mixing the clay to firing the beads to painting. It was also great to see how they improve the lives of the women who work with them. I spent a little too much at the shop (the necklaces add up quickly - but they do make great gifts).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    84
    24
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK if you have time in Nairobi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not very impressive. Unfortunately, we went there on a Saturday evening when the factory was closed. One of the employees explained, but the focus was more on sales.
The beads are available in many shopping malls.
OK for a visit if you have time in Nairobi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to support the community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The bead work is amazing. Good price and at the same time supporting the community. This is a place not to miss in any Nairobi City Tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent organisation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Firstly, I didn't visit the factory, although I wished I did!

However, we did buy quite a few items from the kazuri shop at Westlands Mall, so I wanted to write a review here.

As many others have mentioned, kazuri gives jobs to destitute, mainly single mothers, whom with their wages, often support an extended family of 20. They also give free medical care to immediate family. Put simply, if you buy their Jewellrey, or other pottery items, you are feeding and giving healthcare to, families.

The designs are wry wide ranging and absolutely beautiful! From small beaded necklaces to statement pieces you will surely find something to your taste. We particularly liked the bracelets, they are memory wired, and long enough to wrap around your wrist 2 1/2 times. Colours ooze the landscape of Africa with browns, honey, yellows, oranges, reds to colours like blues, greens.

I got a lovely ivory shale shaped necklace, a choker with brown round beads and a triangle in middle with giraffe pattern, a honey bracelet and some lovely blue and red bracelets as presents

Please consider going here, and purchasing, you are really helping families, you know the money spent is given directly to the ladies in wages, some of our aid to Africa isn't so lucky, and doesn't always end up for the people in need.....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Factory tour of wonderful socially-minded venture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The tour of the Kazuri Factory offers great insight into the work of single mothers in the Nairobi area who would perhaps otherwise not have a source of income. The jewelry they create is beautiful and simplistic, yet has an impact greater than one can possibly imagine. The factory tour allows visitors to see each room devoted to a stage of the process of jewelry making (from clay rolling to painting to glazing) and then allows visitors to visit the gift shop and purchase beads and other work of the women employed at Kazuri. Definitely recommended!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazuri Beads Factory also viewed

 

Been to Kazuri Beads Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Beads Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.