We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
ABC Place, Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
(254) 737 774 477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Never a miss with Seven at ABC so was hoping for the same level and quality of service at Village Market. Not disappointed one bit. The ambiance is brilliant considering it is in a busy mall. Food, nothing short of perfection. Always nice to have one's expectations surpassed.

My biggest problem now is which Seven to visit. A great addition to Nairobi's restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    88
    69
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Village Market Seven- my new favourite place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is very new, yet they offer smooth service, a very comfortable padded seat, spacious tables and very sophisticated flatware and crockery- I was delighted to see my 3 favourite wines on offer, too- Graham Beck Brut bubbly, a Sauvignon blanc from Marlborough New Zealand... I ate there yesterday by surprise for lunch and had the "crunchy fish and chips"- delicious! hot, served very attractively with 3 sauces on the side plus tartare sauce and malt vinegar, thick cut steak fries and cole slaw. Reasonably priced for what you are getting, and large portions, despite what other people had said, we could hardly finish, though we wanted to! We ate outside on the verandah which was fun and almost sunny- but I can see inside being cozy for dinner. I hear you must book for dinner Friday and Saturday nights. They had "fish bowl" cokctails for sharing! Fun!Then today I ran into a friend and tried it againf or lunch- had the grilled red snapper with garlic mash- again a large portion, absolutely fresh, and the garlic bread with sauces with your drink is charming. I had the oysters with pancetta, spinach and white sauce, which were fresh and not at all "fishy", with an oyster fork, and lemon, and tabasco. Well done! The wines by the glass offer a good selection and a good range of prices, they also offer bubbly by the glass, and bellinis or mojitos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Village Market Seven - Best steak in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This relatively new branch of Seven focuses on meat rather than its sister ABC branch where the focus is more seafood. The atmosphere was nice although we felt the lighting was a little too dark. We had the Ceviche to begin with which was ok. The steaks are cut to order and you can go and watch your meat of choice and size cut from the carcass. We went for the sirloin, this was the best steak I have had in the past 10 years in Kenya, it was cooked to perfection and was clearly well bought and hung. The chunky chips and onion rings were great. Service was very good as was the wine list. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been going to the Seven Seafood & Grill since it opened first in ABC Place. The food is exquisite and the owner Kiren is friendly ad an amazing person who is keen to ensure that all is going well. The fish and chips is cooked in a light fluffy batter, the wedges are yummy and everything on the menu is well thought out. Their wine list is excellent and the new lounge at ABC next door is chilled. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. They also do not forget a face and hence always welcoming. The new Seven in Village Market is just as brilliant!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent fish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Consistent experience over several visits: very good food, pricey but good value, good service, nice extras.

Before the food arrives, garlic bread is served with 3 addictive dipping sauces (additional bread and sauces are brought out on request).
The selection of wine by the glass is interesting and overcomes the Chile/box tedium of many other places.
The fish is very fresh and cooked perfectly. I also recommend the niçoise salad (with octopus or fish topping).
The venue is a mixed bag - inside is a sleek lounge atmosphere, and there is a small patio that is one meter from ABC Place's parking lot (separated by a screen and plants).
I believe the dinner menu is more expensive than the lunch menu, which is good value.
My go-to place for fish in Nairobi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.