We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over hyped place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
ABC Place, Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
(254) 737 776 677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Caribbean, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over hyped place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice ambience, but the signature sauce which comes with so much of the food is somewhat overbearing, as its based on smoked paprika. The fish was nice, but the examples lying on ice were really past their sale by date. Overall we were disappointed, we went there as it had so many excellent reviews, but it just didn't live up to its reputation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    71
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nairobi is very well served with a variety of really good restaurants offering virtually every type of international cuisine.
the Seven is an outstanding establishment specialising in sea food. They offer a wide variety of fresh water and sea fish cooked to perfection as well as lobster prawns and crab beaytifully cooked prepared and presented.
There is a reasonable wine list
Service is excellent, the ambience is good and parking and security, p-roblems in Nairobi, are good.
Seven is expensive by Nairobi standards which means it does it is rather less than London and New York.
Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner
My family and I visit often and have never been disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After our hotel fail to recommend anywhere to eat we went with trip advisor and tried here. It wasn't what I was expecting, it's sort of on a little shopping mall/estate but it was very nice.

We had drinks next door as the restaurant was pretty empty (it did fill up a little but not much).

Choices were good and the food was nice, prices were resonable.

all in all a nice meal in a nice setting

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seventh Heaven?Not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Average restaurant in terms of food – stick to the seafood, meats/duck are to fatty, the wrong cut.
Waiter messed up our dessert order, no apology, used my fellow diner’s cutlery to put out the candle on the fondue and returned it back to her to continue eating with!!!
Continuous charade of “happy birthday” belted out throughout the dinner (for times in one seating)
Chef did visit the table though – that was nice. Wine selection, pretty comprehensive by glass and bottle.
Service, average, plenty of waiters around, but I think lacks supervision/management presence.
NOT a fine dining restaurant, more a pricy casual dining restaurant.
Luckily for it, its in an extremely good location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ambience great but not impressed with the menu offerings. Am sure you could do much more. However food that is served is of good quality and presentation. Just work on your menu

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.