We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
ABC Place, Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
(254) 737 776 677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Caribbean, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nairobi is very well served with a variety of really good restaurants offering virtually every type of international cuisine.
the Seven is an outstanding establishment specialising in sea food. They offer a wide variety of fresh water and sea fish cooked to perfection as well as lobster prawns and crab beaytifully cooked prepared and presented.
There is a reasonable wine list
Service is excellent, the ambience is good and parking and security, p-roblems in Nairobi, are good.
Seven is expensive by Nairobi standards which means it does it is rather less than London and New York.
Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner
My family and I visit often and have never been disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    78
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After our hotel fail to recommend anywhere to eat we went with trip advisor and tried here. It wasn't what I was expecting, it's sort of on a little shopping mall/estate but it was very nice.

We had drinks next door as the restaurant was pretty empty (it did fill up a little but not much).

Choices were good and the food was nice, prices were resonable.

all in all a nice meal in a nice setting

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seventh Heaven?Not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Average restaurant in terms of food – stick to the seafood, meats/duck are to fatty, the wrong cut.
Waiter messed up our dessert order, no apology, used my fellow diner’s cutlery to put out the candle on the fondue and returned it back to her to continue eating with!!!
Continuous charade of “happy birthday” belted out throughout the dinner (for times in one seating)
Chef did visit the table though – that was nice. Wine selection, pretty comprehensive by glass and bottle.
Service, average, plenty of waiters around, but I think lacks supervision/management presence.
NOT a fine dining restaurant, more a pricy casual dining restaurant.
Luckily for it, its in an extremely good location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ambience great but not impressed with the menu offerings. Am sure you could do much more. However food that is served is of good quality and presentation. Just work on your menu

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great seafood, but the rest could use a little help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Being about 500 km from the sea, I'm often a bit wary about seafood in Nairobi ... the most common fish are tilapia and Nile perch from Lake Victoria. However, Seven somehow manages to get a supply of quite a variety of fresh seafood; you're waiter will be happy to inform you of what's available on the night you visit. Served in a variety of quite satisfying ways, perhaps the most popular is the whole grilled fish served in Seven's signature "toast rack" manner which places the fish vertically. Works just fine.

Other aspects of the restaurant are a little disappointing. I've yet to find a starter which is truly worthwhile. Not Seven's fault, but African oysters are just a total waste of time, so tiny they're hard to find in their shells. If you're used to Pacific Oysters, rock oysters or those unique Kiwi Bluff Oysters, give them a miss. I've tried about four or five different starters, and none of them were truly outstanding.

The wine list is nothing really special, and they have a small bar but what's the point, the Mercury Lounge is virtually next door and is one of the best drinking venues in town. Nothing special about the ambiance, this last visit I noticed that some of the fabrics and surfaces were looking a little worn, and a particular gripe of mine is that the seating is too tightly packed, your fellow diners are just a couple of feet away. Prices are a tad on the high side for Nairobi, but not enough to be a deciding factor.

Don't understand another contributor's complaint about the parking, there's a huge parking lot out there, I've never had a problem parking reasonably close to the restaurant. None of the above is enough to stop me from going there from time to time, I do miss decent seafood and Seven is really about the only place in Nairobi where you can really get it. But the total dining experience leaves a little to be desired. Best to have a main course in Seven, then duck next door into Mercury for a decent drink and some pleasant company and music.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.