We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seafood & Grill

Seven Seafood & Grill
Abc Place | Waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 737 776677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Already considered to be Nairobi's premier steak and seafood destinations, Seven's distinctive and innovatively designed restaurants offer a sumptuous selection of the finest Indian Ocean seafood and the finest cuts of locally produced beef aged on site in a glass, humidity controlled meat rooms. A mouth-watering array of oysters, lobsters, prawns and ocean fish are delivered daily, freshly prepared and accompanied by Seven's signature sauces. Meat lovers are well catered for, with exclusive, hand-selected cuts of Kenya's finest beef that have been carefully aged and butchered in house. Reviewed as the best in town, indulge in one of Seven's decadent desserts to complete Nairobi's most unique dining experiences.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After our hotel fail to recommend anywhere to eat we went with trip advisor and tried here. It wasn't what I was expecting, it's sort of on a little shopping mall/estate but it was very nice.

We had drinks next door as the restaurant was pretty empty (it did fill up a little but not much).

Choices were good and the food was nice, prices were resonable.

all in all a nice meal in a nice setting

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    96
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seventh Heaven?Not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Average restaurant in terms of food – stick to the seafood, meats/duck are to fatty, the wrong cut.
Waiter messed up our dessert order, no apology, used my fellow diner’s cutlery to put out the candle on the fondue and returned it back to her to continue eating with!!!
Continuous charade of “happy birthday” belted out throughout the dinner (for times in one seating)
Chef did visit the table though – that was nice. Wine selection, pretty comprehensive by glass and bottle.
Service, average, plenty of waiters around, but I think lacks supervision/management presence.
NOT a fine dining restaurant, more a pricy casual dining restaurant.
Luckily for it, its in an extremely good location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ambience great but not impressed with the menu offerings. Am sure you could do much more. However food that is served is of good quality and presentation. Just work on your menu

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great seafood, but the rest could use a little help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Being about 500 km from the sea, I'm often a bit wary about seafood in Nairobi ... the most common fish are tilapia and Nile perch from Lake Victoria. However, Seven somehow manages to get a supply of quite a variety of fresh seafood; you're waiter will be happy to inform you of what's available on the night you visit. Served in a variety of quite satisfying ways, perhaps the most popular is the whole grilled fish served in Seven's signature "toast rack" manner which places the fish vertically. Works just fine.

Other aspects of the restaurant are a little disappointing. I've yet to find a starter which is truly worthwhile. Not Seven's fault, but African oysters are just a total waste of time, so tiny they're hard to find in their shells. If you're used to Pacific Oysters, rock oysters or those unique Kiwi Bluff Oysters, give them a miss. I've tried about four or five different starters, and none of them were truly outstanding.

The wine list is nothing really special, and they have a small bar but what's the point, the Mercury Lounge is virtually next door and is one of the best drinking venues in town. Nothing special about the ambiance, this last visit I noticed that some of the fabrics and surfaces were looking a little worn, and a particular gripe of mine is that the seating is too tightly packed, your fellow diners are just a couple of feet away. Prices are a tad on the high side for Nairobi, but not enough to be a deciding factor.

Don't understand another contributor's complaint about the parking, there's a huge parking lot out there, I've never had a problem parking reasonably close to the restaurant. None of the above is enough to stop me from going there from time to time, I do miss decent seafood and Seven is really about the only place in Nairobi where you can really get it. But the total dining experience leaves a little to be desired. Best to have a main course in Seven, then duck next door into Mercury for a decent drink and some pleasant company and music.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Fish, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The place has both indoor and outdoor seating, very nice ambiente. The waitress announced several specials of the day which sounded so good that a look in the menu was unnecessary. The choices of fish were great, tasted very good and the service was nice, friendly and efficient. Go there and try your luck without a reservation (like we did) but a reservation seems recommendable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seafood & Grill also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Seven Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.