We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff & Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kahama Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 194 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at Kahama Hotel in Nairobi which was great value for money. The Manager 'Tom' was great and was very accommodating to our group and I am strongly considering Kahama as our stop off location when we go through Niarobi 4 times per year. Rose was great too. Check in process took a little longer than I cared for considering we paid in advance and we were flying for 2 days but we got there in the end. Food is served up to midnight so that is great if you have a night flight on arrival.

Meals were good and loved the inclusive breakfast which offered lots of options including a la carte omelets. On 2 mornings we needed breakfast vey early...like at 5.30am and they said No problem and it really wasn't. They laid it out and had everything ready for us so that we could have something to eat before taking out 13 hour journey by road.

My room did not have a view BUT it was more important to have a quiet room than a room with a view because when we were there we ate, showered (really nice ), and slept so didn't care if we had a view or not.

Overall Great staff and great value for money in Nairobi. With traffic 45 mins to airport and without traffic which would be very early AM or after 9.30pm it took us 20mins from the airport.

Room Tip: If you need quiet then request a room at the back but you may not have a view but you will sleep wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4UbyBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are grateful by your nice comment about us. We shall work to ensure those areas mentioned that need improvement are taken care off to make a turn around for the comfort of all guests.
Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
281 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Their motto is 'economy with style' and they do it well. If you're coming from the USA for a safari, especially from the western US it's nice to hang out for 48 hrs before to kick some of the jet lag. The Kahama is perfect for that. Walking distance to the Nairobi National Museum or you can hire a driver to take you to the Giraffe Center and lunch. The rooms are clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The food in the restaurant is just fine and reasonably priced. You can pay 3 times as much, but I'm not sure why. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
thank you for your review about us. We commit ourselves to walk the talk towards our motto 'economy withstyle' as we offer value to all guests who visit and use our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here twice in April 2014 and found the staff friendly and enjoyed the inclusive morning breakfast. First time I had a room on the 1st floor near the patio where wash was hung to dry. That room was comfortable, but no view and had windows that didn't latch completely. The next time, i took a room on the 2nd floor and one facing the roadside; even though other reviews claimed it too be a bit noisier, i didn't feel that was an issue. The room was clean and comfortable w/ a workable fan and bed w/ mosquito netting. I felt that my belongings were safe and there is a safe deposit at the front desk for added security (which i never used). The Kahama is centrally located and within walking distance to the museum. Note - do NOT walk around at night - take a taxi everywhere as there have been several documented armed robberies for the foolish bravehearts. It's a shame that due to recent terrorist threats from Somalia, many warnings have driven the tourists out - this hurts the many good people of kenya who are hard working, decent people. Once out in the safari parks, all is quiet and calm though. If u choose to go to Nairobi as a jumping off point to other spots, be guided by common sense and not fear - the country has much to offer. And if you're looking for basic, clean, affordable accommodation in the heart of the city, then i would recommend checking out the kahama hotel.

Room Tip: Liked the 2nd floor better than the 1st floor and i didn't find the street noise to be bothersom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. Our core responsibility is to offer the best service at affordable price and we shall endeavour to give the same. We appreciate the confidence you have in us and promise to be at your service any time in kenya particularly in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Im a regular client in to this Hotel,Rooms are fab,Breakfast has good variety,Staffs are excellent,I like the car wash service and the Locations proximity to town where you could just walk to town rather than having to drive.Will definitely use this Hotel when in Nairobi

Room Tip: The Rooms are sort of sound proof so doesnt really matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank roadmapnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to hosting next time you will be in nairobi-Kenya.
From the Kahama members we all wish you the very best in your endeavours.
Asante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at Kahama for 3 nights and was very happy. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff very, very friendly. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was one of the best, I had in Kenya. There are always taxis available, but museum and Central Business District are in walking distance. Just be careful when you walk near the bridge - I got my necklace snachted in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and didnt hear any noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind and honest opinion. We were delighted having you as our guest at Kahama Hotel Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again any time in future when you will be in Nairobi.
Asante
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is nice, walking distance from the city center and the museum. The restaurant was nice and so was the food at reasonable prices. The room was nice and so were the beds. Wifi worked well in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Jambo Nomade123,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel.

Your sentiments will go a long way in helping us improve the service and the entire hotel.
Our desire is to host you and many of your friends as and when you are in Nairobi.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Kahama Hotel is an excellent choice for visiting Nairobi and at really good value too compared to other places. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and so was the other food we tried. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very safe and convenient very close to the city center. All we could have asked for while staying in Nairobi! We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MelE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#55 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing