We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Kahama Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Im a regular client in to this Hotel,Rooms are fab,Breakfast has good variety,Staffs are excellent,I like the car wash service and the Locations proximity to town where you could just walk to town rather than having to drive.Will definitely use this Hotel when in Nairobi

Room Tip: The Rooms are sort of sound proof so doesnt really matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to hosting next time you will be in nairobi-Kenya.
From the Kahama members we all wish you the very best in your endeavours.
Asante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
18
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dili
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at Kahama for 3 nights and was very happy. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff very, very friendly. The restaurant was good and the breakfast was one of the best, I had in Kenya. There are always taxis available, but museum and Central Business District are in walking distance. Just be careful when you walk near the bridge - I got my necklace snachted in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and didnt hear any noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind and honest opinion. We were delighted having you as our guest at Kahama Hotel Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again any time in future when you will be in Nairobi.
Asante
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is nice, walking distance from the city center and the museum. The restaurant was nice and so was the food at reasonable prices. The room was nice and so were the beds. Wifi worked well in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Jambo Nomade123,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel.

Your sentiments will go a long way in helping us improve the service and the entire hotel.
Our desire is to host you and many of your friends as and when you are in Nairobi.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Kahama Hotel is an excellent choice for visiting Nairobi and at really good value too compared to other places. The rooms are very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. Breakfast was outstanding and so was the other food we tried. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very safe and convenient very close to the city center. All we could have asked for while staying in Nairobi! We felt very welcome and comfortable here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Though not ideally situated (surroundings, vincinity of a heavily jammed and all-day noisy roundabout), this hotel offers all the guarantees of comfort one might expect for a short stay in Nairobi: good value, good restaurant, wifi, breakfast, taxi service and, mostly appreciated, a great staff (hotel and restaurant) always smiling and ready to help.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the roudabout shall preferably be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very happy with it, although it wasn't quite "budget", I'd say more "midrange" but I guess Nairobi is expensive. Breakfast was good, the wifi was fast (but only worked in the reception area) and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good - short walk to the centre of town during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Even though we just stayed a few nights at the Kahama hotel, I only have positive feedback to give! The frontdesk was really friendly, the driver that the hotel fixed for us was really professional and I would like to give a special thank to the guys in the restaurant/bar! :) You guys rock! Gonna come and visit you when I get back to Nairobi! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We were greatly honoured to have you as one of our valued guests. Hope to host you next time in Nairobi.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahama Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.