We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended even for a stop over” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kahama Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PAY FOR 9 GET 1 FREE
Ranked #22 of 179 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not recommended even for a stop over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We would not recommend even for a stop over of 1 day as we did.
No air-conditioning and bathroom very small and old. This despite we paid more to get "luxury" comfort room. By the way no lift and we were on 3rd floor. No hairdryer in the room and no possibility to have it!!!! and even get an extra towel is a problem.....
Reception very slow in answering/helping on any request. I had to ask 10 times and wait a day even to get a receipt.
Location is close to center but you always need to a taxi to move as it is in an area plenty of pickpockets. If you walk it is at your own risk.
On the positive side I can only mention:
Decent breakfast and food in the hotel for a brunch. Taxi drivers are always available in the parking lot of the hotel. if you ask a room on the rear side you at least get no noise from the street while you sleep (but it really depends which side of the hotel your room is).

Room Tip: ask rear side rooms - at least you get much less noise from the traffic as the hotel is located near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
27
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Kahama is a great little hotel in the heart of Nairobi. We spent two nights there and were impressed by the quality of the room and the friendly service. The breakfasts (included in the room price) were tasty and generous. We had dinner at the hotel on both nights and enjoyed good food on both occasions. We were warned to request a room on the side of the hotel away from the busy highway which we did, and found this to be very quiet. The hotel decor is very welcoming, too. I would highly recommend this little oasis in the chaotic city of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back on the other side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great hotel, cheap prices, slightly noisy but not too much. The rooms are clean, confortable, with TV and clean bathrooms. The food is good. There is a restaurant and a bar downstair. Friendly staff. Only critic : I was on the second floor and the internet network was not good in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A very pleasant stay for a lovely price in this very kindly hotel. Very quiet situated in the chaotic city Nairobi. We have had a few lovely days in this hotel. There is a very busy road on the frontside but this is not a problem. Make therefor a reservation at the backside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side of the hotel because there is a very busy road in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Kahama is pretty decent hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights and they make sure everything is clean and tidy and also they provide u with mosquito net which is pretty helpful. The staff is very polite and kind, I pretty much recommend this place to anyone who is planning to stay in nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Kahama is truly a special place. My husband and I stayed there in August and we could not have been happier with our experience at the guesthouse. The staff were very friendly, attentive and flexible. The rooms were clean and pleasant and the food was reasonably priced and tasty - even the complimentary breakfast was good, which is a real rarity in travellers' guesthouses. At first, we were put off by the fact the guesthouse is right next to a busy main road, but you really don't notice it when you're on the inside. An oasis of peace in downtown Nairobi, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kahama while we were in Nairobi. The low cost of the hotel does not reflect the quality. Their staff was very attentive and worked to meet our every need. The room was a good size, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a great room to relax/sleep-in and watch some TV. The price included breakfast, which was more than ample, and there was free wi-fi in the lobby. There was also a bar/restaurant which served reasonably priced ice cold Tuskers (amongst other beers). We did have dinner there one night and it was good and fairly priced. The driver (Josephat) that they sent to pick us up at the airport was very helpful and his prices were reasonable (especially after we heard the prices some of the chain hotels were charging). The only downside is that they are not right in the city center, but it is about a half of a mile walk and the National History Museum is also a half miles walk away. My husband and I walked to both the museum and the city center and, other than some hairy traffic crossings, we had no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahama Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.