We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oase in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kahama Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
“Oase in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A very pleasant stay for a lovely price in this very kindly hotel. Very quiet situated in the chaotic city Nairobi. We have had a few lovely days in this hotel. There is a very busy road on the frontside but this is not a problem. Make therefor a reservation at the backside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back side of the hotel because there is a very busy road in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
31
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Kahama is pretty decent hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights and they make sure everything is clean and tidy and also they provide u with mosquito net which is pretty helpful. The staff is very polite and kind, I pretty much recommend this place to anyone who is planning to stay in nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Kahama is truly a special place. My husband and I stayed there in August and we could not have been happier with our experience at the guesthouse. The staff were very friendly, attentive and flexible. The rooms were clean and pleasant and the food was reasonably priced and tasty - even the complimentary breakfast was good, which is a real rarity in travellers' guesthouses. At first, we were put off by the fact the guesthouse is right next to a busy main road, but you really don't notice it when you're on the inside. An oasis of peace in downtown Nairobi, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kahama while we were in Nairobi. The low cost of the hotel does not reflect the quality. Their staff was very attentive and worked to meet our every need. The room was a good size, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a great room to relax/sleep-in and watch some TV. The price included breakfast, which was more than ample, and there was free wi-fi in the lobby. There was also a bar/restaurant which served reasonably priced ice cold Tuskers (amongst other beers). We did have dinner there one night and it was good and fairly priced. The driver (Josephat) that they sent to pick us up at the airport was very helpful and his prices were reasonable (especially after we heard the prices some of the chain hotels were charging). The only downside is that they are not right in the city center, but it is about a half of a mile walk and the National History Museum is also a half miles walk away. My husband and I walked to both the museum and the city center and, other than some hairy traffic crossings, we had no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Hidden behind an uninspiring facade, this hotel and it's staff were a real find, great value for money. Clean and inexpensive rooms, free Wi-Fi, a decent breakfast included, and all with a smile. We stayed here on two separate occasions and I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Kahama for 4 nights and thought it was an excellent option for the price. I didn't find the location a problem, but I wasn't really comfortable being out by myself after dark anywhere in Nairobi so I took the hotel taxi (which was always available and an affordable option) if I was going anywhere at night. I even took the taxi for a spur of the moment day trip to Hell's Gate National Park - super easy to organize and well priced. The rooms are super cute and the food in the restaurant was really tasty. I ate there for dinner almost every night in Nairobi and the days I didn't, the food wasn't as nice at the other restaurants. The wifi worked great for me in the lobby and restaurant, not so much in the rooms but I think the wifi is only advertised as available in common spaces.

My flight to Nairobi was delayed delayed delayed and the hotel still sent someone to pick me up 14hours late at 3 in the morning. The rooms are super cute and spacious. I'd definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night in July and i can really recommend it. The rooms are very nice, you get free wifi access (with high speed) and the staff are very friendly! If you go to nairobi and want to stay at a rather unexpansive but great place - then you should go to kahama! A final note: the breakfast is great!

/Andreas, Sweden

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenya Comfort Hotel
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#67 of 133 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#53 of 133 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Road
#44 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#28 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahama Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.