We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kahama Hotel - Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kahama Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PAY UP FRONT
Ranked #23 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kisumu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kahama Hotel - Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

For mid-range budget travelers, this a great hotel. I had just flew in to Kenya for the first time and was really looking forward to a clean room, a comfortable atmosphere, and a good night sleep. Kahama delivered! In addition, they picked me up from the airport, the front desk offers helpful advice, and they have free internet (however, the WFI was not working; you can't expect it all). The breakfast included is an excellent buffet and the restaurant has a large selection of foods. I also appreciated the mosquito net drapes around the bed. Oh yeah, and they replied to my e-mails instantly!

Perhaps the only draw back is the location; while only a short walk outside the downtown, it can be a little hectic with hawkers, highway traffic, and the possibility of getting lost. If you are not the adventurous type, there are taxis right at the hotel.

Overall, a great recommendation by Lonely Planet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
23
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in a superior king size room and it was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I also liked the restaurant, which, among other things, served traditional nyama choma. I agree with the other reviewer that a room safe would be nice, though I was still able to leave valuables with the staff. Overall, Kahama Hotel is a great place to stay in Nairobi for an affordable price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Kahama is a warm and elegant place in the heart of chaotic Nairobi, a place where time seems to stand still. We've been travelling throughout Kenya low budget and were used to very poor accomodation. We chose the Kahama for our final stay in Kenya and were overwhelmed by the contrast. Everything is luxury, very clean and extremely service-oriented! Definately not the cheapest hotel, but the cost and benefit is absolutely balanced. An oasis of calm!
Also room service and the hotel bar and restaurant is great, elegant african style!
Thanks Kahama!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was traveling through Nairobi on my way to Uganda and had a one night stay here and was absolutely thrilled I booked here. The front staff was incredibly friendly, as were the support staff and restaurant crew. Unbelievable price for money. I know Nairobi isn't the safest place for a Caucasian female, but the front staff had helpful advice and was able to help me navigate the city to run errands. Will definitely be staying here again as I pass back through Kenya!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had spent 2 months volunteering in Kenya. i found the Kahama recommended by lonely planet. It was perfect for me. So friendly, clean and the staff went out of their way to help me. To have a bed, shower, toilet and electric light after 2 months was heaven.Thank you so much

Room Tip: My room was at the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

In the "Lonely Planet" Kenya, June 2012 the Kahama Hotel is the editors choice for Nairobi - no wonder. The Kahama Hotel is a home away from home. It was a hotel established by a local Kenyan businessman, Mwangi Kirung’o Kahama , (his portrait hangs in the reception) who had a good sense for the atmosphere of a family hotel. When he died the hotel was renamed in his honor. The staff are all so friendly, helpful and considerate. This hotel just barely got saved from the new super highway system in Nairobi, completed within the last year (2011). That means it stands right on the freeways edge. Probably due to the lovely old style wooden interior, ceilings and well insulated windows, one hears no traffic noise inside the hotel.
Everything including the rooms are very clean, excellent room service daily, a very tasty restaurant with reasonably priced meals. A big plus is the big buffet style breakfast that offers different meat and vegetables courses every day to all the other items, omelettes, etc.- so a breakfast with variety. The rooms have no air conditioning but in the altitude of Nairobi that is not needed. Hot showers in the room are available throughout the day.
The hotel is very frequented with African business people and families. Few travelers and tourists from outside of Africa have discovered it but it is a real treat if you do. There is a cyber café with computer with internet access available for all guests to use freely. The staff assists efficiently with taxi connections and information! Although four-storys the hotel has no elevator but porters are always available to carry up luggage if needed. We stayed a total of 9 nights in between journeys to other locations in Africa. We agree with all other positive comments in this section. The price relative to the services offered is a good bargain. To the Staff of Kahama- keep up the great service.
November 23, 2012 Jean and Rudi from Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Clean,Quiet,Pocket Friendly Very friendly Staff excellent customer care. Please keep this standard ever. Very clean and a wonderful customer Care. Thanks to Manager Tom Strikers Anne,Racheal @ Eunice,Defenders and all the Team players. I urge every one to go to Kahama Hotels for maximum confort and best services.Thanks. Mugasha

Room Tip: Very clean and a wonderful customer Care. Thanks to Manager Tom Strikers Anne,Racheal @ Eunice,Defen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahama Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Address: Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahama Hotel Nairobi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's best kept secret can now be revealed. Kahama Hotel Nairobi next to the Globe roundabout is Nairobi's answer to a 2-star hotel with the comforts of a 3-star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kahama Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahama Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.