We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolf,s place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rolf's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rolf's Place
Save Saved
You added Rolf's Place to your Saves list
Maasai Lodge Road, Nairobi 24380, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nbo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rolf,s place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just came back from having Lunch at Rolfs Place. We are from nairobi. But my whole Family got a stomach ache. The Place is Beautiful we recommend only got for a Coffee to enjoy the lovely View. Service was Not good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was a nice surprise arriving in the evening at Rolfs Place: walking with our luggage at the suspension bridge! We arrived late, but that was no problem at all. We really felt welcome. We booked half board, and the table was waiting for us. We could choose everything from the menu and they didn't rush us, we had a nice dinner with good wine!
In the morning we enjoyed the view over the Nairobi National Park, wauw, what a great place!! Having breakfast at the terrace is a good way to start your day! The staff is really friendly and helpful. Everything is nicely decorated, nice garden and pool and the rooms are clean and neat (although the bathrooms are a bit oldfashioned).
The owner just passed away, but business went on. We really hope they can go on with Rolf's dream! Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The access to Rolf's place is a spectacular rope bridge over the gorge that this venue oversees. Amazing views over the Gorge and out over Nairobi National Game Park. The decor is unique as is the friendly personal service by Rolf. The choice of food was unusual but very tempting, and cooked fresh to order. Breakfast on the balcony over the Gorge is unmissable, with birdsong and cool breeze. Hearing the Lions and other park Animals at night was an added bonus. Not the cheapest, but positively my best African experience to date. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

the views from this place are lovely when you are sitting in the dinning room, unfortunatley the rooms are not as great but they are adequate. the food was lovely and we enjoyed our stay there. it had a great feel of being well out of nairobi without having to go too far. this place is a little pricey but it is a nice romantic weekend getaway. if you are staying there it is cheaper to get a room rate including dinner rather than pay for dinner seperatley! from the base room rate of 12,000 you pay 2000 more for a 3 course dinner for two, the prices on the menu are much higher. enjoyed it would go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for a romantic weekend, ended up meeting with a bunch of friends who'd gone for an evening drink. We ended up having a huge dinner of about 10 people late into the night.

Rolf's son - Adam and his girlfriend went out of their way to make us have a special evening despite the additional pax not being residents at the accomodation side that night.

The waiters were good and one even gave us his cellphone to listen to music! The room steward - shiro was professional and paid attention to our needs especially when the bathroom got too wet from the showers.

The entrance views are Awesome but a bit diappointing as you cannot see them very well from the rooms or when seated.

Food - good portion but pricey and this is one area they can improve on.

Room Tip: the lower rooms have better views, are quieter but no bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our Favourite retreat just outside Nairobi, in close proximity to the National Park, and a spectacular view of it. A bit pricy, but room 1 is definitely worth every penny, and also the food is marvellous.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rolf's Place is unique. The staff provide a caring and personalised service which just adds to the magnificent location and the boutique nature of this wonderful place. After busy working days in the heart of Narobi, this is a sanctuary to return to overlooking the National Park. Rolf is an accomplished chef and evenings can be spent hanging over a gorge on his charming terrace eating from an a la carte menu which caters for many tastes and reflects Rolf's diverse culinary skills. This place is a true gem and reflects the passions of its owner and staff for genuine hospitality on a human scale.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rolf's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolf's Place

Address: Maasai Lodge Road, Nairobi 24380, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Rolf`s Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolf's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.