We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chester House

Save Saved
You added Chester House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House
Koinange Street, 3rd Floor | P.O Box 40392, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with four friends, we rented the 17th floor, Penthouse. The penthouse satisfied our needs with space and a great view of the city at night. We partied indoors and did not bother to go out the first night. The internet service was faulty and it was difficult to get online in the living room. One day we did not have hot water and the power went out for a total of four hours. We learn to adapt to where we visit, so even though many people would have been extremely annoyed we just made the best of it. The service was great, reception satisfied our needs, sometimes a little slow in doing so.
I stayed in the Studio for one night and fell in love with it, it felt cozy and even though it was closer to the street level, once the door was closed it became quiet. I will definitely return if I visit Nairobi again, I miss that Johnnie Walker Banner...

Room Tip: Make sure you take a lock to secure valuables. Expect heavy traffic. Sometimes the power goes out. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Situated on the upper floors of a large, centrally-located downtown building that has retail and a pretty good restaurant/pub on lower levels, these apartments must have come into service sometime before the mid-1960s at the latest, and unrenovated since them -- everything in there is from a pre-plastic world. Almost a time capsule. Things have been patched together and are in working order, but it is old. The studio room was good-sized: bed (surrounded by mosquito net, which you will need to use), couch and chair in sitting area, and gally kitchen. Entrance to bathroom is next to head of the bed. Flimsy sliding glass door (which doesn't do much against the traffic noise) opens on to small grime encrusted balcony. Kitchen was functional, but not equipped with a whole lot, at least in this apartment. Closet space was minimal and safe was a wooden, home-made contraption requiring your own lock. Water heater worked on a switch requiring about 20 minute lead time. TV old with lousy picture, internet was more or less ok. There isn't a lobby or hotel infrastructure here: just a desk and elevator with guard at the door. Each floor is security keycarded. Access to Chester Apts is shared with entrance to mall, which is guarded at night. Location is the best asset here, for daytime activity and for nightlife, and as an apartment guests may be brought in no problem.

Room Tip: higher the better, unless you enjoy street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,095 reviews 1,095 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
680 helpful votes 680 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was my second stay at the Chester House Apartments, and overall the place was as nice as I remembered it. It seems that all the rooms are the same, and my 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable and roomy. It included a full kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Everything was quite clean. There was also a balcony on the north side. A good room. The place offered free wifi, and when it worked it was great. Security was good too, with guards on the entrance downstairs and security doors on each level requiring your room card to access.
Then there was the problem. Just after I checked in, the power went out. Thankfully the elevators and electronic door keys still worked, but there were no lights, no power and no wifi. I understand that these things happen, especially in Kenya, but the reaction of the staff was to do nothing. Only after it was getting dark and I had a whinge to reception staff did they bring up some candles so I could at least see my way around the apartment. At $142 USD per night, I shouldn’t have had to ask. I am sure they would have left me sitting in the dark. For the record, about 10 hours after it went out, the power finally came back on.
In truth, the power could go out wherever you stay in Kenya, but I would hope for a little more reaction from a hotel in this price range.
Overall the Chester House Apartments are pretty good. They still suffer from the deep base coming up from a nightclub next door, so sleep quality is not great, but that seems to be a common problem everywhere in central Nairobi. The rooms are big and comfortable, and when the power is on, Chester House is a good place to stay in central Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spent 4 days at the Chester House this past March 2012 on my way to the Coast and Mombasa and it was an excellent choice. The room was perfect, tons of hot water for the shower and it was quiet and the location was most central.
And in booking at the Chester House, e mails were answered so fast by Gladys from the office and this made the whole booking process so painless. Thank you Gladys.
The price point was great and even more so if you clicked on their face book option. Room service was quick and fast and food most tasty. If you need a fancy lobby, then the Chester House is not for you.
This will be my hotel choice for sure when I am Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,095 reviews 1,095 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
680 helpful votes 680 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Chester House Apartments are located in the city centre of Nairobi – good location with Uluru and Central Parks just a minutes walk away, and restaurants and shops aplenty nearby. The apartments are roomy, with separate lounge, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The kitchen includes a range of utensils so you can cook up a storm if you want. The place was in decent condition and kept very clean.
Just a couple of negatives: the TV looks like it is from the 1980’s! Given this is over $100 AU per night, it really should have better. The WIFI was great, but it dropped out every now and then – this might be more of a problem with internet access in Kenya than with Chester House in particular, but it was frustrating.
But the biggest problem was the neighbours! There is a nightclub right next door, that literally goes all night, closing up around 5am, at which time the deep-bass music finally stops only to be replaced by the hordes of drunken party goers spilling out into the street! I was on the 8th floor and the noise was still unbearable – I believe it is even worse if you are lower. If you are a light sleeper like me, this is a real problem, and unfortunately one that the management at Chester House probably cannot do anything about.
So the room was decent, but there were a few problems that I would not expect from an accommodation in this price range. Not really value for money...

Room Tip: Go high up to limit the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stayed at Chester House for a few days, and was very satisfied with the facilities. The kitchen was well-equipped, incl oven and microwave, and adequately stocked with dishes and cutlery. Bed comfortable, but only doubles available. Price was 112 UD$ a night. security good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House

Address: Koinange Street, 3rd Floor | P.O Box 40392, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House offers the most spacious rooms in the heart of Nairobi. All our rooms are self contained, with a fully kitted kitchen, cable television, free wi-fi, a spectacular swimming pool and of course our patented balconies with stunning views over the city. Whether you want to get some serious work done, or put your feet up and unwind, Chester House Apartments provide unparalleled comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.