We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience over comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Gardens Guest House

Save Saved
You added Comfort Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Gardens Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Convenience over comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for about a week while working at the United Nations. The hotel appears to be an old villa that has been converted and continually added on to. The main benefit of staying here is convenience: the hotel is within walking distance of Village Market (mall) and a 5 minute shuttle ride of the UN and US embassy. That said, convenience isn't everything.

The breakfast is decent (buffet style with about 6 trays; fruits, cereals, etc., plus vegetarian options; the chef making the eggs was a bit sassy), but there were mornings where there was no coffee available--"Out of order." This is beyond the pale! The showers were either excruciatingly hot or ice cold (some in our group didn't even have hot water). There was no ability to switch rooms as it was booked solid. Wifi connectivity seemed to vary by room, but I didn't have too much trouble in mine. I was staying in the "A" block of rooms. Bathrooms were very small, the door opened basically into the shower.

The linens on the beds were quite old. I had to ask for mine to be changed. They were a bit tattered. It was a bit noisy when I was there as construction is going on next door (they are tearing down a water park and I guess putting in a new hotel).

The lobby is not the best for hanging out, nor is the pool area. There are a few decent tables, but overall not the most conducive to relaxing after work. You won't be spending any time in the lobby/pool area. I would recommend heading over to another hotel for drinks after work, like Tribe (obviously a different price point).

All in all very average. I like convenience especially when dealing with Nairobi traffic. So, this hotel is fine. Definitely for the NGO set. The UN delegations tend to stay at the more upscale options. Still, you won't suffer too much here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, General Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Banhran.

we truly and sincerely appreciate for taking your precious time to view and comment on comfort gardens. we are always honored to host you.
we addressed the few mentioned areas and we can assure you the next time you visit you will have another wonderful experience.

Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
6
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We was there for 3 nights, from 31st March to 3rd April 2014. Location of the hotel is very good, very close of many International Organizations and Diplomatic Missions. Village Market is also very close and you can reach there in less than 5 minutes walking from the hotel. They can provide cab services and drivers are very kind and they always reach in time.
I was there with my husband and my little boy of 5 months, we requested in the room one baby bad and it was provided immediately.
Good WiFi connection, very clean and comfortable.

I usually don't write reviews but this hotel deserve it.
For sure we will choose Comfort Gardens again !

Room Tip: B28 room 3 for the ones which need a room with small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ghenu A

It is my sincere hope that you and your family are doing fine.,
we appreciate your effort for taking time to comment about comfort gardens,and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our cab services.

Looking forward to hosting you again in future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in a single room with a view of a second hand car yard on one side and the driveway and kitchen on the other. Either the shower or the toilet leaked onto the floor. With tiled floors and plain walls the traffic noise from the road, and kitchen noise from 5:30 am until midnight was amplified. Hard beds, a refrigerator without power, no ceiling fan nor many of the advertised facilities this is a most uncomfortable place.
With prices 20% higher than we recently paid for a comfortable one bedroom fully equipped apartment in St Germain Paris, this is outrageously expensive for a supposedly 3 star guesthouse. The proprietor and reception staff could not have been more unhelpful hosts.
Unfortunately the only aspect of Comfort Gardens that satisfied was its location near Village Markets, but I’d look for somewhere else when next in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Find another guesthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The biggest problem with Comfort Gardens was the lack of consistency. I changed rooms because the previous room had disastrous wifi; the room I moved to was better with its wifi reception, although not ideal by a long shot. The previous room had a nice enough shower, with good pressure, but the second room's shower pressure was weak the one day, average the next, very hot the following day, and considerably cool the next. On some days, the breakfast was good, and on others it was not. Service was so-so: there was an element of friendliness, but professionalism was often missing.

Where Comfort Gardens excels are its close proximity to the UN and the Village Mall next door, its cleanliness, as well as its garden and swimming pool.

Overall, though, I think I'll look for another hotel when am next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel was appalling and did not live up to expectations. The room that was allocated to me was well below the standard advertised on their website. The room was old with dated decor. My room was noisy - noise from the kitchen disturbed us most of the night along with noise from the road. The room had no fan, so windows without fly/mosquito screens needed to be left open for ventilation. The view from the room was of a car park and not the advertised garden. The fridge and phone did not have any plugs in order for them to work. The shower and toilet leaked on the bathroom floor. Taking a shower was not a pleasant experience - it went from freezing cold to scolding hot. Reception staff were unpleasant, unhelpful and generally disinterested in providing any customer service. I was so disappointed with this hotel I sought a discount (less than 10%) - which was finally provided after many long discussions. I would definitely not stay in this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you want a quiet, hassle free experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked several rooms for our family and because they needed rooms that could accommodate 3 or more they were housed in the "old section" of the hotel. The rooms were -2star standard. No airconditioning, no refrigerator, close to the kitchen with cleaning and washing up going on until midnight, no views (well if you call a stone wall with razor wire and rubbish piled up outside a view) the bed sheets were covered in 'pilled lumps' and looked as if they had not been changed, the staff were unhelpful and rude and the whole experience was very very poor. And it cost US$ 240 per night!! We could and should have gone to a genuine 4 star hotel (which this place claims to have) but we were seduced by the location and some good reviews on Tripadvisor. Beware.

Room Tip: It appears that if you book a deluxe balcony room for 2 then you get something better. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Comfort Gardens was recommended for our conference at the UN Headquarters. I was thrilled with my gorgeous room and balcony. The gardens, pool and restaurant are all lovely. All of the staff, including the fun bar staff, are kind and great fun. They were quite tolerant of our complex international dynamics and even joined in our jokes, pictures, and dancing. If you are there on Fridays, be sure to check out the Maasai Market in the lot next door.

Alas, the mattress was very hard! The nice pillows and mosquito net were much appreciated though.

Room Tip: I had to fold my comforter in half to make the hard mattress more comfortable. I don't know if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dearest Kimberly
Thank you for sparing your time to comment about our establishment
I am thrived to know we meet your expectation and thank you for your honesty and i promise we will work on bringing more comfortable mattresses

Kindly note that this is always your second home and we always enjoy hosting you.

Have a happy new year with God's blessing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Gardens Guest House

Address: UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Gardens Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Gardens is a quiet guest house located 8 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. It’s located in one of the safest neighborhood in the city, next to the UNON Compound, a host of embassies and NGOs as well as the Village Market. The Gardens is ideal for a business traveler, especially those conducting business around Gigiri. The tourist will find the Guest House ideal as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Gardens - Kenya Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.