We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice, rooms not as pictured!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Gardens Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
Comfort Gardens Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 169 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Stayed twice, rooms not as pictured!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here twice during our recent trip to Kenya. The first time, the room had been updated and was okay but the second stay the room was not nice at all. When we complained that the two types of rooms were not comparable and we should not have to pay the same price for both stays, they were not helpful. They fumbled around and we left not satisfied and would suggest you book carefully and you do not get the old rooms as they are not nice. The location is convenient to Village Market if that is not a concern after recent events in the city. The grounds around the unheated pool are definately the best feature. Breakfast is included and they do cook eggs at a station which is nice as they are then hot. We found the English service by the reception, front desk staff the poorest of all the hotels we stayed in during our three weeks. They also tried to charge us for charges from our first visit when we checked out from the second visit. Fortunately I had kept my receipt of payment. we would not stay again however if price dictates and you need a convenient spot just make sure you are not in old wing, terrible!

Room Tip: Do not take rooms not updated or in old wing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hallo Kimberly,
Hope you are faring on well
Thank you for taking you sweet time to comment in the trip advisor
Let me take this time to apologies for any inconveniences caused and the unsatisfactory service that you received. We promise that we are going to pull up our socks and next time will offer much better service
Thank you alot for your honest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
6
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed only one night arriving late and leaving early the next morning. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the room was very comfortable and clean. Overall very good value for money and a pleasant experience. The location was perfect for my needs being next to the Village Market and within walking distance of the UN office.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Smoghead,
Hope you are well.Thank you for taking your time and giving a comment on our guesthouse
It was a privilege hosting you and hoping to see you again .Am glad we could meet your expectation.Thank you once more for choosing comfort gardens as your second home.
Be blessed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although this is not a luxury establsihment, the venue is indeed comfortable and the service is friendly and enthusiastic. Within (real) walking distance from a major shopping centre, safe environment. Transfers done punctually. Good wifi, good food. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Esteemed guest,
Thank you for taking your time to comment on our guest house.Am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was our pleasure hosting you and hope will host you again.Thank you for choosing Comfort Garden as your second home and have a nice evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed just for 2 nights. The place is in a quiet and save part of the city. A driver from the hotel should pick us up from the airport but he never came. So we arranged are own transfer to the hotel. In the hotel stayed a lot of foreign guys who were working for the UN or some sort of organisation. Ouside the hotel, only a hunderd meters, there is a nice shopping mall with a lot of restaurants. So, you can go out in the evening without any problems. The rooms are good but no further luxury. A fair price for a good place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Mello.Thank you for your view and opinion on our guest house.I would like to thank you for choosing comfort garden and it was our pleasure hosting you.
I take this oppurtunity to apologies for not finding our driver at the airport and i promise that next time we will not let you down.
Looking forward to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night July 12, 2013 prior to our safari and arrived late & left very early the next morning. It was a bit hard to find at night, and our cab driver had to pull over to ask for directions. A positive was that it is in a very secure location close to the UN headquarters and US embassy.

Once we arrived, we were so exhausted from 15+ hours of travel, that we ate a quick meal (which was great), and then went to bed right away. The grounds seemed pretty with a nice pool and surrounding lounge area - which we didn't have a chance to enjoy. Free WiFi was a big plus. Service from staff was excellent. We were impressed by the honesty of a waitress who served us dinner and returned our change the next morning at breakfast (not realizing it was a tip for her). We did have a bit of confusion of charging for our stay (which was already paid through Expedia), but once we showed our email confirmation, it was okay.

Our only qualm was that the walls were so thin, you could hear everyone nearby walking and talking since we were on the ground floor. The room we were in was average (definitely not the new executive room) and it suited our needs for a quick stay.

Overall, the hotel grounds & service were much better than actual room itself. For what we paid, we expected the room to be nicer. Not amazing value when all we needed was a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Carole,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion.Am glad you enjoyed our service and we promise to improve on the standard of our rooms.It was a privilege hosting you and you are much welcome to stay with us again.Have a blessed day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is my third long term trip to Nairobi and fourth hotel. This is an African style hotel, but with extra amenities. I stayed at the nearby European style luxury hotel for far too long before I found Comfort Gardens. Some of the issues mentioned by other reviewers (hot water occasionally missing, confusion over the bill) are also endemic to most other Nairobi hotels including the luxury hotel. In addition, Comfort Gardens had far superior wifi, MUCH nicer towels, and plenty of storage space. If you want good television and overpriced, expensively decorated rooms, go to the luxury hotel. If you want a superior garden to lounge, swim, or have a simple meal in, go to Comfort Gardens. Most importantly, the staff was outstanding -- hospitable, attentive, and very professional. Thank you especially David, Tabitha, the Chef, and Rose. I recommend the intermediate sized rooms with small kitchens for comfort and value; if you cannot make stairs you should ask for a room on the ground floor as there is no elevator. If you are working/visiting the UN/Embassy area, they now have a free shuttle, which is most convenient in rainy season although it is otherwise an easy walk. I agree that you should avoid the drivers to/from the airport. and just take a JimCab taxi.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the intermediate sized room with small kitchen. It is good for singles or couples. The kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hallo Clarissa,
Hope you are well.It is good hearing from you.Thank you for the long stay you had with us and the positive views you have of us.Please note that now we do have new drivers and they are good at what they do.Am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will host you again .Thank you and you are most welcome back to Comfort gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took the "executive room" in the "new wing" of the Comfort Gardens, and found the room still small. I don't know what the non-executive rooms in the old wing look like, but I would not want to stay there. Everything was clean, but the room was small. BTW, you had to climb two sets of stairs to get there. I chalked it up to useful exercise.

It is well located near the Village Market, which means a short walk to many restaurants and shops, and is in the neighborhood without air pollution. Also the Masai Market is next door every Friday, definitely worth a visit.

All in all, a good choice, though nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear our Honored Guest,

We are grateful for taking your time and reviewing this page.
My company is very grateful for choosing our establishment.
Of most importantly, is that we have noted the hustle most guests undergo to access the staircases.Kindly be assured next time you pay us a visit, the elevator will be in place!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Gardens Guest House

Address: UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Gardens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Gardens is a quiet guest house located 8 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. It’s located in one of the safest neighborhood in the city, next to the UNON Compound, a host of embassies and NGOs as well as the Village Market. The Gardens is ideal for a business traveler, especially those conducting business around Gigiri. The tourist will find the Guest House ideal as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Gardens - Kenya Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.