We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable, not plush” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Gardens Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
Comfort Gardens Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Serviceable, not plush”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took the "executive room" in the "new wing" of the Comfort Gardens, and found the room still small. I don't know what the non-executive rooms in the old wing look like, but I would not want to stay there. Everything was clean, but the room was small. BTW, you had to climb two sets of stairs to get there. I chalked it up to useful exercise.

It is well located near the Village Market, which means a short walk to many restaurants and shops, and is in the neighborhood without air pollution. Also the Masai Market is next door every Friday, definitely worth a visit.

All in all, a good choice, though nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear our Honored Guest,

We are grateful for taking your time and reviewing this page.
My company is very grateful for choosing our establishment.
Of most importantly, is that we have noted the hustle most guests undergo to access the staircases.Kindly be assured next time you pay us a visit, the elevator will be in place!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
6
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Positives: beautiful garden and swimming pool area. The staff are polite and helpful. The wifi is reliable and a good speed. Great location, 3 minutes walk from the Village Market Mall which has a good selection of restaurants. The hotel is very safe as is the surrounding area.
Negatives: Pricing is unclear. Hotels.com states that the airport pickup service is complementary, however it is not and there is a 2000Ksh charge. In addition I was charged for 4 additional nights on my bill. When I pointed this out there was no apology for the mistake and there was no explanation as to why it happened. The rooms could be cleaner- the inside of the wardrobes and bedside lockers were all very dusty in my room. Also, the towels are changed every 2 days which for a €120 per night hotel is a bit cheap.
Overall a good hotel in a beautiful setting which is perhaps overpriced for the service it offers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are smaller but have a shower, rooms in the main building are big and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Esteemed guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write on our trip adviser, We were privileged to have you here with with us,We appreciate everything that you have written and we have worked on it to improve our establishment so that such mistakes will not happen again in the future. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel appears to have grown incrementally from a residential property to a guest house to a fully-fledged hotel, and it shows. It comprises adjoining blocks that don't fit together well - you walk through a TV room and dining area to get to most of the rooms. My room was adequate but noisy due to the narrow corridors, lightweight doors and proximity to the outdoor seating area. For the price it was fair, however, especially for this upmarket part of Nairobi. The close proximity to the Village Market was also a great bonus, as you can walk there in 5 mins and find a wide variety of food/drink options.

Two real gripes guided my 3-star rating. First, the hotel is about to burst and is taking too many people for its staff and infrastructure. Breakfast was a melee with everyone coming at the same time (7-7.30 am) and the system unable to cope. I didn't get a seat and there was no coffee left. Bowls and cutlery had run out and the kitchen staff were racing around trying to hold it all together. The front desk was a similarly chaotic scene, with lost keys and various confusions. They're overwhelmed and can't cope at full occupancy. My second problem was with the two hotel taxi drivers, one of whom picked me up at the airport and the other who dropped me off. They are maniacs. One is an ex-matatu driver and behaves like it. "Ghetto Radio" on full blast, phone calls and even text messages while careering along at high speed and telling you about his "record time" from airport to hotel, while rudely cutting up every other driver. He behaved very dangerously and shouldn't be allowed to keep his licence, let alone transport guests.

In summary, I think the hotel would do better by knocking some rooms together, taking lower occupancy and going "high-end". Right now the size of the place simply can't cope with the number of people they are trying to cram in and serve. And get rid of the dodgy drivers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay here in our establishment, We really appreciate your comments on our trip adviser, you help us to grow and improve where necessary, we have new professional drivers, we have also improved in many areas, we hope to see you here again.
thank you for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is very good (but very difficult to find if you arrive at night). The gardens are lovely and the breakfast is very good. Our room, however, was spartan, perfunctorily cleaned, loud due to its proximity to the kitchen, and lacking in hot water. Yes, the price was reasonable, but still we were expecting more for what we paid.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed only one night at this small hotel while in transit from Ethiopia to the Masai Mara for a safari. The hotel is reasonably priced for Nairobi which is not a cheap city. The location was great in that it was located outside of the traffic-clogged downtown area. It is walking distance to the US Embassy if that is something you need - but more importantly, it's located very close to the Village Market shopping area - a cool outdoor shopping area with great shops and restaurants. Oh, and there's a movie theater there as well.

The room was quite basic but nice enough. There is mosquito netting but no window screens. We did get some bites...TV didn't really work well but that wasn't really important to us. The bathrooms are very basic. Though not immaculate, it was clean enough for our purposes. Though the property has a nice pool area, we didn't swim but we did read by the pool in what is a very nice oasis in the busy and somewhat dusty city. The morning breakfast was very nice - if you don't have to leave prior to 6:30-6:45am. We did. Our safari company recommended this hotel but the breakfast wasn't going to be ready in time...so they prepared us sandwiches the night before.

The big negative was the customer service. Only the manager seemed to know anything or be able to do anything. When we arrived, we wanted to make change so we could tip our driver. The front desk staff claimed not to have any change. The manager solved the problem for us. This was a surprise trip for me (from Ethiopia) so I didn't have the correct electrical adapter. The front desk told me that "most guests just go buy one" and that she couldn't help me. We called the manager and he appeared with an adapter." The other issue that is was an enduring frustration is that they provide one bottle of drinking water per day per guest...and claim to have no other source of clean water other than for purchase.

So, it wasn't ideal and it wasn't the best place we've stayed in Kenya but did suit our needs.

Room Tip: It does get loud and there's constant construction. Take a look at the room and make your own d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hallo our esteemed guest.
I take this opportunity to thank you for giving your views about us.It was our pleasure hosting you and looking forward to do it again.
Am really sorry for not being able to meet some of your needs and please note that we bought plenty of adapters and now you can get one form the front desk thanks to you.
In general thank you for your stay with us and your honesty,you are always welcome to comfort gardens any time any day.Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel Guest House with my Family last year the end of June and end of July beginning August.I give all the staff Thumbs up and hope that they are being looked after well.Good workers must be respected for all what they deliver for there continuing motivation and morale.Sharing a slice of cake on the table for all builds honesty and trust.Even as a kenyan I was treated equaly the same as our foreign visitors.The quick chemistry between the staff and guests was incredible.The location is all what you need.Eric,Patrick,Rose,and Francis and the other many names I have missed made this property more a Family Run buisiness oriented.Breakfast was delicious,Rooms clean,The beddings and the curtains we had requested was delivered accordingly.My recomendation would be a small Gym and Wellnes area If you have a little bit space.I also did not see a small business center room with a printer,We kept on bothering you people at the reception checking our emails.The main Gate Guards takes abit too long to open the Gates for clients coming in in the evening.May be you can create a process where by calling before you reach the Gates,This Guest House is on the same class like all Marriots Guest Inns and apartments in the US.I would highly recommend It to travellers who want to move away from the noisy Central District and concerned with Security matters in general.Keep good work by constant renovation and keeping your staff since many clients get used to them thus building of trust.Make alist of old clients and update us by email on new developments and ammenities.Thanks for now and hope to visit you soon.

Room Tip: The Family probably needs a room with a kichennete. The Balcony Rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Omondi,
Hope you are well.Thank you for sparing your time and sharing your views about us.It has always been our privilege to have you at our establishment and am glad we always meet your expectations. We will surprise you soon when you find a gym and other fitness facilities .For the security matters we can advice you to call the reception when you are almost there and the reception will inform the security guard so as to avoid taking alot of time at the gate.
Again thank you for choosing comfort Gardens as your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here on business in April 2013 and to be honest as much as Liked the place I hated it to.

Good points:
friendly people/staff
swimming and a relaxing atmosphere
24 hours coffee/tea

Bad points:
Break fast continental not too great
No kettle in the room
No Air con in the room
Hot/Cold water a struggle
Menu for veterinarians NIL.

+point Village Market is a two minute walk and a great location for food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort G, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
To our esteemed guest,
Hope you are fairing on well.It is nice hearing from you and thank you for taking your time and share your thoughts.We will continue doing what we do best and improve to our level best on our weak areas so as when you come back next time you feel our improvement and hope you will feel the comfort.Thank you for pointing out what needs to be installed and improved in the rooms.
Have a nice one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Gardens Guest House

Address: UN Cresent Road plot no 34, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Gardens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Gardens is a quiet guest house located 8 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. It’s located in one of the safest neighborhood in the city, next to the UNON Compound, a host of embassies and NGOs as well as the Village Market. The Gardens is ideal for a business traveler, especially those conducting business around Gigiri. The tourist will find the Guest House ideal as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Gardens - Kenya Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.