We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Italian in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Salumeria
Dhajay Apartments-Valley Arcade | Valley arcade Shopping Centre, Nairobi, Kenya
20 3875226
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 352 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Favourite Italian in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It's our favourite Italian in Nairobi. A surprising little find on the ground floor of a residential block. Spinach Ravioli and the Tiramisu were excellent so was the starter but I forget what it was.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Italian in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Keep going there and never been disappointed with either the service nor the food. During lunch you could probably get by without a reservation. The last time we went absolutely by the owner,s ( think he was the owner, well Italian anyway) recommendations and weren't disappointed by any dish. Located inside a block of apartments can be slightly tricky to find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Overrated?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My only real complaint is how small the portions were! I ordered the Cannelloni and while the dish was delicious, i was underwhelmed.. No side salad or anything. The Ravioli was nice as well but a bit too al dente for my taste.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Nice Cosy Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Cosy little Italian hidden away in a unassuming part of a Nairobi suburb, inside a residential block of apartments. Walk in though and you get the feeling of being in a traditional Italian Trattoria -type restaurant with an almost homely feel to it.

The food is quite nice, as authentic as possible here in Nairobi I guess, with a varied offering of Pasta's properly al-dente [ had their Penne Arabiatta] and a good selection of Italian wines.

The only downside with this restaurant is the location - I was here for lunch and I wonder if I'd feel comfortable coming here for dinner keeping in mind one needs to be careful with personal safety when driving around in parts of Nairobi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Pastas are super al dente, pizzas are nicely done, even the deserts are fabulous. Go for the meat ravioli with Gorgonzola sauce. Definitely make a reservation before hand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salumeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.