We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cosy Atmosphere Fine Food and Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Salumeria
Dhajay Apartments-Valley Arcade | Valley arcade Shopping Centre, Nairobi, Kenya
20 3875226
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rustic Cosy Atmosphere Fine Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant is one of the older established restaurants in Nairobi.
It is at the rear of Valley Arcade a good location to meet and eat!

The Italian Parma Ham and Melon starter is huge and delicious. Caprese with Mozzarella de Buffalo fabulous.

Mushroom Ravioli is a must and the Pizza's are thin and very tasty, all finished with fresh Parmesan if you prefer, wine good and sometimes Grappa on the house to finish…
Gets busy, best to book on Thur/Fri/Sat evenings: 020 387 5226.
Worth a visit - the owner is passionate and always in attendance. Unless it is closed (AUG) for his annual vacation in Italy!!
Enjoy .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    27
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lahore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The homemade ravioli, the thin pizzas, the gorgeous (when available) tagliatta... we love it! Even though the manager/owner could be less grumpy...:) this is our favorite restaurant in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Irked...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was invited by a couple who have been going to this restaurant for years.Both my wife and myself ordered the grilled fish.The three meals arrived and my friends/wife politely waited for my meal to be served.After 10 minutes I insisted they go ahead as their meal was getting cold.It a good thing as my meal arrived just as they were finishing up..When questioned our waitress did admit that she had only put in an order for one fish,thus the delay.This is not what I expected from a restaurant with such great reviews.What irked me was we received no apology from the management who went ahead and charged for the meal anyway.Very disappointing after much anticipation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ostrich sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wow, first time I had ostrich meat and it was good. I was a bit afraid of what I was having, but I figured it is just a big turkey. Meat was very tender and tasted wonderful

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Always consistently good but closed in August! As we found out to our dismay... never mind we'll be back once open again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salumeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.