We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salumeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Salumeria
Dhajay Apartments-Valley Arcade | Valley arcade Shopping Centre, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great New Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a real little gem of a spot tucked away behind Valley Arcade in an apartment complex.
It is small and personal, I imagine it can get fairly cramped on weekends.The decor is great gives you the feeling of a family run spot in the back streets of a sleepy Italian town known to just a select few.
Food was great and very reasonable, had one of the best sea food pastas in a long time. Great great spot for a small group would not try to fit more then 8 people in round a table.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    27
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent italian in Kilimani”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The quality and the italian guaranteed taste makes it a very good choice if you want to eat well in the Kilimani area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai,UAE
1 review
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the place i was admiring to work with as they have standardized experience both in front of the house and back just to make sure that the guest reach their expectation.Mr.David,Chef Harrison together with all the team keep it up as the standards maximizes the international feeling just like here in Dubai.Soon as am coming the 1st stop will be in your restaurand for a special frutti de mare Pizza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Italian feeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Considering what you find around in Nairobi this place deserves attention people that like Italian food. I have even there twice in the last few days. always lunch time as I am working not far away.
Sitting outside, under the portico, is definitely nice, fresh enough and reminds me a bit the old style trattorie outside Rome, in the Castelli Romani.
I am vegetarian so the name of the restaurant does not matches my philosophy but I have to admit that the tagliatelle ai funghi porcini were very good, not sticky, not too salty like in all other Italian restaurants in Nairobi.
They also serve small breads, something in Italy we would call focaccine, to accompany the meals. Very good indeed.
Also the coffers at the end was great.
Prices are acceptable, wine less expensive than other places but still too expensive considering the quality of the wines.
Probably is better to drink something else in Nairobi... not the right city for wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

this is one of the best italian restaurants in town... great ambience... a tad bit pricey but worth it... the food is fresh.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to La Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salumeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.