We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting Cocktails and a Buzzing Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onami Grill & Sushi Bar

Onami Grill & Sushi Bar
Mwanzi Road | Westgate Mall, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 3743244
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exciting Cocktails and a Buzzing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Located within the Westgate Mall one might claim that the surroundings of the bar aren't the most exciting, but on the other hand parking is easily available at a reasonably price. There are loads of cocktails which will tempt you, usually great music and floor space to dance. Unfortunately this large bar/restaurant has no terrace and the at times slow service means that it cannot receive a full mark.
Tip: Wear something fashionable since most guest are either coming in smart work attire or dressed to go out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This should hit the spot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A pretty good and nicely decorated restaurant. Even saw a Japanese guy behind the sushi bar! We had satay bites (beef, chicken, veg, mushrooms & chips), some prawn and red snapper sashimi, a rand roll, and this spicy tuna covered in salmon roll (or something like that!) They also have very good cocktails and on Tuesday nights they are buy one get one free. All in all, a good restaurant, nice atmosphere, and good food & drink.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofn, Iceland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location (up on the top retail floor of the Westgate Mall) leaves it with fewer customers than you might expect, but this Oriental-themed restaurant ticks all the boxes: good selection of food, great selection of drinks, excellent service and pleasant, cool decor.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We ate dinner here on Tuesday 19th November (pre birthday dinner) We choose 2 sets of Teppanyaki which was fresh and good. However we had to wait for the chef to finish serving a couple that was there before us, which took longer than we expected, although their wonderful cocktails kept us busy. The should add extra chef(cook) other than make customers have unnecessary wait for their turns.

The waiters are quick in service and very friendly! I have tried several Japanese meals in Nairobi and Onami westgate beats them all. I would eat again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crappy place; even worse staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had dinner there 2 weeks ago on a Friday, The service was very very slow and our table(of 10) had to repeatedly re order drinks and when they came half were not correct! the food was way below average, and most of us had lots of left overs. But the icing on the cake is when the bill came and my husband paid by credit card, and the waiting staff, who were 4 standing in a corner whispering this whole time as we were trying to decipher the bill, came and asked my hubby if they could add 4,000kshs on top of the bill and deduct the whole amount from the card as their tip!! Now this is the first time we have encountered this in Nairobi, the wait staff deciding for themselves what amount of Tip they should get and asking for it! not to mention the crappy job that they did! that is definitely the last time we ever go there. waste of time and money if you ask me. So if you do go, you might want to check what they charged to your credit card before you sign, you might be awarding terrible service with a hefty tip!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onami Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Onami Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onami Grill & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;