We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere and fresh food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onami Grill & Sushi Bar

Onami Grill & Sushi Bar
Mwanzi Road | Westgate Mall, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 3743244
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We ate dinner here on Tuesday 19th November (pre birthday dinner) We choose 2 sets of Teppanyaki which was fresh and good. However we had to wait for the chef to finish serving a couple that was there before us, which took longer than we expected, although their wonderful cocktails kept us busy. The should add extra chef(cook) other than make customers have unnecessary wait for their turns.

The waiters are quick in service and very friendly! I have tried several Japanese meals in Nairobi and Onami westgate beats them all. I would eat again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crappy place; even worse staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had dinner there 2 weeks ago on a Friday, The service was very very slow and our table(of 10) had to repeatedly re order drinks and when they came half were not correct! the food was way below average, and most of us had lots of left overs. But the icing on the cake is when the bill came and my husband paid by credit card, and the waiting staff, who were 4 standing in a corner whispering this whole time as we were trying to decipher the bill, came and asked my hubby if they could add 4,000kshs on top of the bill and deduct the whole amount from the card as their tip!! Now this is the first time we have encountered this in Nairobi, the wait staff deciding for themselves what amount of Tip they should get and asking for it! not to mention the crappy job that they did! that is definitely the last time we ever go there. waste of time and money if you ask me. So if you do go, you might want to check what they charged to your credit card before you sign, you might be awarding terrible service with a hefty tip!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, until the roaches showed up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As we ordered drinks before dinner, we were shocked to see Roaches run across our table. The manager seemed not to grasp why we were so upset, and casually explained that the place had just been fumigated twice.

Why did we need to know that, and why didn't TWO fumigations rid such a high end restaurant of roaches ?

We changed tables, and did not see the manager again until the end when he belatedly offered a free drink.
Look into your bug problem, Onami.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went there and found them playing salsa music,danced abit. Onami is in a big shopping mall called Westgate in Westlands. Plenty of safe parking and great ambience but slow service

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

ambiance, food quality and general service. The air and aura of the restaurant is one that keeps you in. Food portions are also generous and therefore one serving is adequate to fill a man up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onami Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Onami Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onami Grill & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.